Who Do You Pick?

By Carson Gramm

August 26, 2016

The premier division of Elko Speedway, the Minnesota Corn Growers Super Late Models, have proven themselves as the most talented in the Midwest. With local drivers that have swapped positions multiple times throughout the season, and visiting drivers from around the Midwest, fans at Elko Speedway can expect to witness the hardest racing of the season. Joey Miller and Dan Fredrickson call Elko Speedway home, but have reputations all around the country from their time competing in the ARCA Series presented by Menards. Miller has also made starts in the Camping World Truck Series. Young and developing drivers like Michael Ostdiek have brought programs such as the Kulwicki Driver Development Program to Elko Speedway and the surrounding communities.
With star studded line ups each week, Jacob Goede from Carver, MN, has worked hard for his top spot in the points. The race for the championship has begun to heat up as we head into the final weeks of the Minnesota Corn Growers Super Late Model points season, which will end on September 17. Goede now has a total of 3 wins and 12 top 5 finishes in the 2016 season at Elko Speedway which is keeping him 25 points ahead of Lakeville driver Joey Miller.
The exciting weekly racing will start to develop as drivers from the ARCA Midwest Tour presented by SCAG Power Equipment start to visit Elko Speedway to tune their cars before the 8th Annual Thunderstruck 93 event on September 24. Locals like Goede, Miller, Fredrickson, Nick Murgic, Jonathan Eilen, and many more are experienced tour drivers that are looking to continue writing their names in the record books. These local drivers have tough competition when it comes to the tour races, and that competition is on its way to Elko Speedway for the August 27 Minnesota Lottery Eve of Destruction Racing. The young driver out of Seymour, WI, Ty Majeski, has stated that he will be visiting Elko Speedway for this event.
Majeski is the current ARCA Midwest Tour points leader by 112 points over Paul Shafer Jr. Three spots back from Majeski is Eilen, who has already been victorious at Elko Speedway in the 2016 Minnesota Corn Growers Super Late Model division with his win on June 4 during the Tasseldega Nights event. Eilen is also the winner of the inaugural tour race which was held at Elko Speedway, and as a past ARCA Midwest Tour champion he will be fun to watch. Watch out for these two drivers among many other local and visiting talents live at Elko Speedway over the next few weeks.
The premier division of Elko Speedway has seen a total of 10 different winners in 16 races. The Minnesota Corn Growers Super Late Models are just getting their tires warmed up as we head into the final weeks of the 2016 season. Be prepared to witness great battles all over the track and points standings in the next few weeks. The top 10 in points are as follows; Jacob Goede, Joey Miller, Matt Goede, Mark Lamoreaux, Steve Anderson, Billy Mohn, Chris Marek (R), Chad Walen, Joey Garofalo, and Rick Burns.
The next event planned for Elko Speedway is Eve of Destruction presented by Minnesota Lottery on August 27 featuring Transaurus the Car Eating Dinosaur Robot, Tee’d Off, NASCAR Racing, and so much more. For ticketing information on this event and others please visit us online at www.elkospeedway.com or on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram. Stay up to date on current happenings by downloading the new ELKO! mobile app on your Apple or Android devices.
Elko Speedway and Drive-In is located just 30 minutes south of downtown Minneapolis in Elko New Market, Minnesota. For 51 years we have been the home for NASCAR racing in Minnesota and fast paced entertainment of all forms. Featuring NASCAR racing, Eve of Destruction, and Drive-In movies we are a family entertainment destination. For ticketing information visit www.elkospeedway.com and click on tickets.