Walen, Goede split Elko Twins

Elko, MN September 1, 2012—With the “competition window” starting to close for NASCAR Whelen All American Series competitors, 21 drivers battled high and low Saturday September 1st at Elko Speedway in Twin 30 lap features with Chad Walen and Matt Goede earning the wins.

In the opening 30 lapper, Walen started on the outside of the front row and quickly motored to the lead, extending it to a five car length advantage just three laps in. With Walen controlling the action, pole sitter Joel Theisen came to life reeling in Walen with a strong five lap run to pull to the leaders bumper, with Matt Goede, Donny Reuvers and Adam Royle in a tight battle for third through fifth.  As the action remained caution free, Theisen was able to work to the inside of Walen several times and the pair made slight contact several times as the action reached the 20 lap mark. With the holiday crowd cheering wildly, things came to a head as the leaders received the white flag and raced side by side through turn three before Theisen lost the handle on his ride exiting turn four, sending Walen to the checkers with Goede, Reuvers, Royle and Derek Lemke earning top fives.

In the second headliner, Walen again darted to the lead with Goede and Reuvers quickly in pursuit, driving around Jason Schneider on lap three with Royle following suit by lap five. With Walen hoping for a “clean sweep” to keep his fading title hopes alive, it was Goede who felt even more pressure as he needed the win to close on Reuvers who began the night with a 13 point advantage in the championship battle. Goede used the pressure as motivation, pulling even with Walen by lap nine and taking the lead at the 10 lap mark, he appeared to be on his way, but Walen would retake the lead on lap 13 before Goede retook control at lap 16. With Goede now pacing the action, Reuvers slid under Walen on lap 18 and Royle followed suit on lap 20, but neither could mount a charge as Goede rolled to the checkers, with Reuvers, Royle, Walen and Schneider earning top fives and Derek Lemke backing up his first career Super Late Model top five with a sixth place finish to earn the MONSTER Energy Performance of the Week.

In the Big 8’s, Nick Beaver took the early lead from Michael Beamish as the tandem exited turn two on the opening lap and it was a sign of things to come as Beaver quickly pulled away to a seven car length advantage as Lawrence Berthiaume and Travis Stanley were battling with Beamish for position. With Berthiaume and Stanley able to move into the top three at lap four, Jon Lemke continued Beamish’s slide on lap six moving to fourth. While Berthiaume, Stanley and Lemke were in a fight for second through fourth, Joe Neisius reeled in Beamish to join the top five on lap 12. With all of the battles taking place, it was Beaver keeping a smooth, confident pace in the caution free 25 lapper rolling to his second win of 2012, with Stanley and Lemke charging by Berthiaume for second and third, with Neisius fifth.

The Thunder Cars had some story lines that would factor into the action as point leader Steve Anderson moved from the RPM Engineering #17 to a ride with Raising Kane Racing, with Doug Brown returning to the RPM mount. As the green flew over the 17 car grid, Devin Schmidt and James Lindgren battled side by the side for the opening five laps for the point before Schmidt took the lead, with Kyle Kirberger, Dillon Sellner, Michael Gilomen, Ted Reuvers and Brown in pursuit. As Schmidt held the point, Kirberger and Brown became the two cars on the move as the tandem raced to second and third by lap 13. Once in third, Brown closed on Kirberger and ducked under him on lap 18 for second and then pulled even with Schmidt on lap 21 before taking the lead one lap later. Over the final three laps, Brown motored to the apparent win, with Kirberger edging Schmidt, with Gilomen and Dustin Mann in the top five. In post race tech, Brown was disqualified for illegal rear end parts sending Kirberger to victory lane.

The Great North Legends again showed great numbers with 18 racers taking the green in the 20 lap main with Michael Ostdiek showing early power to race under Dylan Warner for the lead, with James Wenzel and Trevor Bradley in pursuit of the leaders. As Ostdiek extended his lead over Warner and Wenzel to three car lengths, Derek Lemke charged around Bradley for fourth on lap three before a solo spin by Trevor Bradley brought out the caution on lap seven. On the restart, Ostdiek held off a challenge from Warner to take the lead, while Lemke slipped under Wenzel for third and closed to Warner’s bumper before the caution flew for a second time on lap 13 as Travis Warling lost the handle in turn four. On the final restart, Ostdiek protected his line and motored to the lead and despite a determined run by Lemke, earned the win, with Benny Van Cleve closing quickly to edge Warner for third with Wenzel fifth.

Topping off the action were the Power Stocks and Josiah King powered out to the early lead, with Paul Hamilton, Tom Doten and John Lebens in pursuit. Hamilton made the biggest move, closing on King on lap three before powering by on the outside for the lead on lap four with Lebens trying to squeeze by Doten. With Hamilton showing the way, King’s night ended on lap eight as he blew his motor to bring out the caution. On the restart, Hamilton again took the lead and felt quick pressure from Doten, who was able to duck under Hamilton on lap 18 to take the lead enroute to the win, with Hamilton, Lebens, Adam Oxborough and Todd Tacheny earning top fives. Hamilton was disqualified after the action for failing the weight rule, moving Shawn Evans to fifth.

Elko Speedway now prepares for the September 8, 2012 EVE OF DESTRUCTION RAW featuring Double Features for the NASCAR Super Late Models, plus Monster Trucks, the First Ever Garbage Hauler Race, the K9 WARRIORS, Spectator Drags and the CAMPER VS. “DA BUS” followed by live music from the Kris Brooks Band in Champions. In addition, the first  500 kids 12 and under will receive a FREE DVD courtesy of the Neighborhood House of the Twin Cities. For directions, event questions or ticket information, contact the Racing Office at (952) 461-7223.

Comments are closed.

Warning: Undefined variable $aria_req in /var/www/html/wp-content/themes/elkospeedway/comments.php on line 80

Warning: Undefined variable $aria_req in /var/www/html/wp-content/themes/elkospeedway/comments.php on line 82