Thunderstruck 93 Points Battle

By Jason D Searcy

September 25, 2015 – Elko, MN

The ARCA Midwest tour headlines the #Thunderstruck93 presented by NAPA auto parts at Elko Speedway but the action does not stop there. Two Elko Speedway track Championships will be earned on Saturday night September 26th.

The battle in the Genz-Ryan Thunder Car division is very close coming into their final race of the season. Three time Champion Brent Kane from Lonsdale (MN) has had a season full of the highest highs and the lowest of lows. Kane has spent a lot of time in victory lane this season, he has 9 feature wins at Elko Speedway but he also has spent some time in the hospital recovering from a concussion that occurred during a nasty wreck in late June, his car was damaged so badly that he had to race multiple different cars to continue racing. Kane won not once but twice in a borrowed car, he went to victory lane in a car owned by Scott King and also one on loan from Conrad Jorgenson.

Jeremy Wolff from Chaska (MN) is only 7 points behind Kane going into the final night in the race for the Thunder Car Championship. This is a familiar position for Wolff, he finished second in points to Conrad Jorgenson last year at Elko Speedway. Wolff has two wins this year and is always near the front. Wolff has beaten Kane before, he won a furious battle for the Hobby Stock Championship at Raceway Park in its final year finishing just a few points ahead of Brent Kane.

Both of these drivers have a healthy respect for each other and they both boast a large contingent of vocal race fans, it should be a very entertaining Thunderstruck93 finale in the Thunder Cars.

The Pepsi Power Stocks also will crown a Champion during Thunderstruck93. 15 year old Grant Brown from Prior Lake (MN) has rebounded from the disappointment of losing the Championship in 2014 on a tiebreaker to come back and have a fantastic season, he has exploded for six wins this year.

Tom Doten from St. Paul (MN) is still within striking distance, he is 30 points behind going into the final night of racing in the Power Stocks. Doten has two wins this year and has used his veteran insight to stay out of trouble in a division where trouble seems to be lurking around every corner. Third place in points is Taylor Goldman from Minnetonka (MN) she has four feature wins and has been red hot as of late, she is 65 points out of the top spot.

Both the Thunder Car and Power Stock divisions will race heat races and then a feature during #Thunderstruck93. A driver can earn 21 points for a heat race win, it then drops to 18 for second and then down by 2 points per position for the top 4, then down by one point per position after that.

The feature event can earn a driver 51 points for the winner, it then drops to 49 for second and then down by one until the basement at position of 17th and below earning 34 points.

Both the heat races and features will be very important as we count points and crown two more Champions at Elko Speedway on Saturday night.

#Thunderstruck93 will have an on-track autograph session with all its drivers at 3pm on Saturday, so fans are encouraged to come early, spectator gates open at 3pm. Qualifying and heat races begin at 4pm with features to follow.

In addition to the touring ARCA Midwest Tour and BIG 8 Late Model divisions, the Hornets and Great North Legends will also be racing Saturday September 26th at Elko Speedway located 20 minutes South of the Twin Cities just off of I-35 and County Road 2. Thunderstruck93 is in memory of Dan Ryan who passed away from ALS in 2009. Get more information about Lou Gehrig’s disease at www.araceworthwinning.org

Get more information by calling (952) 461-7223 or go to www.ElkoSpeedway.com or follow Elko Speedway on Facebook, Twitter and YouTube. Use hashtag #Thunderstruck93

Comments are closed.