Sept. 12th, 2015 Eve of Destruction

By Jason D Searcy

September 12, 2015 – Elko, MN

Wings Financial Credit Union presented an Eve of Destruction with racing in the NASCAR Whelen All American series at Elko Speedway.

Billy Mohn from Lakeville (MN) won his second MN Corn Growers Super Late Model feature of the year in race number one. He took the lead early in the 30 lap event and extended it to a full straight-away lead by mid-race when Derek Lemke and Joey Garofalo battled side by side for second place.

It took quite some time but defending Champion Jacob Goede moved up from his 8th starting spot to the runner up position by the end of the race, Goede finished 2.139 seconds behind Mohn. Danny Fredrickson started the feature 13th, he passed a lot of cars on his way to finishing third.

Danny Fredrickson from Lakeville (MN) took home his first Elko Speedway trophy of 2015 in the second MN Corn Growers Super Late Model feature, he became the 9th different winner in this division this season. Fredrickson grabbed the lead early and never looked back in this cautionless race. Current point leader Jacob Goede battled with Paul Paine for many laps but eventually moved up from his 8th starting position to finish 2nd with Paine coming home third in this strong field of 17 cars.

With his two runner up finishes, Jacob Goede from Carver (MN) extended his lead to 92 points in the race for the Championship. Since there is only one more points earning night at Elko Speedway and the maximum number of points a driver can accumulate in one NASCAR night is 81, Jacob Goede has clinched his second consecutive title in the Super Late Model division.

Chris Marek from Lakeville (MN) won the first Hiway Federal Credit Union feature on Saturday night to score his 12th win of the season. Veteran driver Jon Lemke put the pressure on Marek and finished only .597 seconds behind in this tough 13 car field.

Ryan Kamish from Farmington (MN) won the second feature of the night and became the 9th different BIG 8 winner of the year at Elko Speedway. “It was a good night, the car felt really good,” said Kamish “I got out there and just broke to my lead and didn’t look back.” Cole Anderson led the first portion of the 20 lap race but Kamish was out front before the half-way point and held on for the win by .541 seconds over Nick Beaver who finished 2nd. Defending Champion Chris Marek spun with 6 laps remaining and then fought back to finish 9th.

Marek now has an 81 point lead, which is the exact amount necessary to clinch a tie, and since he hold the tie-breaker, Marek will win his 3rd consecutive Championship in the BIG 8 division.

Three time Champion Conrad Jorgenson from Lakeville (MN) won the first Genz-Ryan Thunder Car main event of the night. Michael Gilomen led the first six laps but then Jorgenson moved up from his 6th starting position to grab the lead and never let go. Jorgenson beat Brent Kane to the finish by .906 seconds in this impressive 19 car field of Thunder Cars.

Brent Kane from Lonsdale (MN) did it one spot better in the second feature and won for the 9th time this season. Kane passed the early leader Devin Schmidt on lap 11 and fought him right to the end, winning by only .153 seconds. Seven different drivers have gone to victory lane this season at Elko Speedway in the Thunder Car division.

With his two good finishes Kane retook the point lead from Jeremy Wolff, Kane now leads by 7 points in the race for his 4th Championship at Elko Speedway. Brent Kane is also leading in NASCAR Home tracks points, he is currently the top point getter in the Nation in division 3.

The Pepsi Power Stock main event was a quick one, the sixteen car and 20 lap cautionless race took only 5 minutes and 48 seconds to run and Taylor Goldman from Minnetonka (MN) was the quickest of them all. Goldman started up front and won for the fourth time this year, she beat Paul Neisus by 2.257 seconds at the stripe. Eight different drivers have won features this year in the Power Stock division.

15 year old Grant Brown finished 5th and holds onto the point lead. Brown is the leader with Tom Doten in second and Taylor Goldman third. Brown is also the National NASCAR Home tracks point leader in division 4.

Tim Brockhouse from Webster (MN) won his first of the year at Elko Speedway and his 133rd career feature in the Great North Legends main event. Shon Jacobsen and Dirk Henry swapped the lead early in the 20 lap race, Brockhouse came up from his 5th starting position to claim the lead with 8 laps remaining, he then had to hold off a hard charging Brady Fox-Rhode and Derek Lemke to win by only .205 seconds with 3rd place just .006 behind the runner-up in this 19 car field. Six different drivers have now won Legends features is year at Elko Speedway.

Derek Lemke now holds a 26 point lead in the race for his second Great North Legends Championship at Elko Speedway.

The Hornets main event became a battle of attrition as many of the top competitors were involved in incidents that prevented them from finishing, 19 cars started the race but only 10 finished on the lead lap. Luke Geisler led the early portion of the race, then Ridge Oien took his turn up front, those two wrecked with five laps remaining in the feature. Then the race to the finish really heated up with Michael Wachs Jr and Ashley Bell both crashed into the wall in corner number three on the last lap handing the win to Brandon Plekkenpol from Shakopee (MN), it was his first win of the season. He is the 8th different driver to win a Hornets race at Elko Speedway this year.

Justin Schelitzche finished second and padded his point lead, he now has a 50 point advantage over Ashley Bell in the race for the point title.

Zach Lovera from Prior Lake (MN) won the Spectator Drags portion of the race program in a 1994 Chevy Camaro Z28. Stu Berg from Bloomington (MN) won the Outlaw Drags in a 1996 Chevy Monte Carlo.

For full results and updated point standings go to www.ElkoSpeedway.com/results

Thunder 4×4 and Tailgator Monster Trucks both entertained the huge Eve of Destruction crowd and Freestyle Motocross stunts were performed by JJ Romans and Eric Farr including the ever popular back flip. The Timberworks Lumberjacks also showed off their skills before the races and during intermission.

Up Next at Elko Speedway will be the Championship night for both the Super Late Models and BIG 8 divisions on Saturday September 19th, gates open at 5pm with action beginning at 6pm. The Power Stocks and Thunder Cars will crown their Champions on September 26th during the annual #Thunderstruck93 event to benefit ALS and the Championship night for the Great North Legends, Hornets and Bandoleros will be during the final Eve of Destruction on October 3rd.

Elko Speedway is located 20 minutes South of the Twin Cites just off of I-35 and County Road 2. Get more information by calling (952) 461-7223, follow Elko Speedway on YouTube, Facebook and Twitter or go to www.ElkoSpeedway.com

Comments are closed.