Scott Kingery Memorial Race Night Recap

July 12, 2014- Elko, MN

By Jason D Searcy

Conrad Jorgenson from Lakeville (MN) came up from the 19th starting position to win the $1,000 Scott Kingery memorial 50 lap Genz-Ryan Thunder Car race at Elko Speedway on Saturday night.

“I owe this one all to my crew after crashing in the heat race, they busted their rumps to fix this thing up,” said Jorgenson “they did a great job getting it fast, it was a lot of fun coming from that far back.”

Jeremy Wolff lead much of the race but finished 16th in the 21 car field after an incident with a lapped car put him to the back. Jorgenson and Michael Gilomen then raced side by side many laps to the finish with Jorgenson winning by just .036 seconds at the line. “It’s good to see Michael run that good,” said Jorgenson “him and I have a great time racing together and we raced each other pretty hard, it was fun.”

With the win Jorgenson increased his point lead by 23 points over Dusty Mann from Farmington (MN), defending champion Brent Kane missed the race night due to a family wedding ceremony.

Chad Walen from Prior Lake (MN) won the MN Corn Growers NASCAR Whelen All American Super Late Model 40 lap feature event.

Walen has been very close to the front this year and finished runner up on July 5th, but this week he did that one spot better. “The car worked in either lane and things went our way, each week we get a little better,” said Walen. TUNDRA series champion Nick Panitzke from Sauk Centre (MN) started 17th and worked his way up to the second position.

Paul Paine from Mound (MN) finished 4th and held on to the point lead, but Chad Walen is gaining ground just 2 points behind and Jacob Goede is only 6 points back in third.

Rookie Cole Anderson from Northfield (MN) won the BIG 8 feature event, he bested three time winner and defending Champion Chris Marek from Lakeville (MN) for the trophy. Anderson also took over the point lead from Marek, he now has a two point advantage in the standings.

Ryan Varner from Minnetonka (MN) won his first ever feature event at Elko Speedway in the Pepsi Power Stock division. Varner won by 1.795 seconds over Tom Quade from Bloomington (MN).

Nick Oxborough from Savage (MN) had an off night finishing 9th but still leads the point standings by 8 points over fellow rookie competitor Grant Brown from Prior Lake (MN) who finished 3rd.

Robby Carter from Prior Lake (MN) won the Great North Legends main event. He held off Shon Jacobsen from Oak Grove (MN) for the win by just .376 seconds. Benny Van Cleve finished 17th after a big wreck in corners 3 and 4 that caused a lengthy delay and incredible damage to his car.

Derek Lemke from Shakopee (MN) finished 7th and held onto the point lead by 3 points over Shon Jacobsen.

Todd Tacheny from Mankato (MN) won the 15 lap Mini Stock main event, he finished just ahead of Brian Adams from Norwood (MN) who leads in the point standings by 2 markers over Michael Wachs Jr. from Shakopee (MN) who finished fourth. The Mini Stock division has seen five different winners in the five feature races at Elko Speedway so far in 2014.

Owen Giles from New Market (MN) won the Bandolero main event.

For full race results go to www.ElkoSpeedway.com and click RESULTS

Great Family entertainment will continue at the Midwest Center for Speed, Elko Speedway located just 20 minutes South of the Twin Cities on Saturday July 19th for an Eve of Destruction event. 6 divisions of racing plus the Megasaurous and Jet Smart car, School Bus races, Flag Pole races, Outhouse races, Vertical Mischief and much more. Gates open at 5pm with double features beginning at 7pm. A movie will be shown at Champions drive-in theater after the races have concluded.

For more information follow Elko Speedway on Facebook, Twitter and YouTube, go to www.ElkoSpeedway.com or call (952) 461-RACE.

Comments are closed.