RAW opener at Elko Speedway

Elko MN, – May 25, 2013

A cold and windy start to the season, but it was full night of Racing and Wrecking at Elko Speedway with double features over Memorial weekend.
Nine time champion Donny Reuvers from Dundas (MN) took over the point lead by winning and taking second place in the two Super Late Model features.  “It was a good way to start the night, I couldn’t ask for the car to be any better in the first one,” said Reuvers “the second feature we needed the car to be a little better.” 
Reuvers outlasted veteran driver Mark Lamoreaux for the win, Matthew Goede won the second feature event leading from start to finish.  Reuvers didn’t make it easy though, using the inside groove to pullalong side for many laps at the end.  It was the closest finish of the year with Goede winning by just .05 seconds.


The Big 8 division is close and competitive all the through the field, Jon Lemke from Shakopee (MN) has a one point advantage in the point standings after winning the first of two features.  The man just behind him is Chris Marek who won the second feature after making the right moves on a restart and holding off a lot of pressure from Travis Stanley late in the race.  “I like the way we do restarts at Elko with the lane choice, it’s not just the guy out front dictating what the rest of the field does” said Marek.


Dirk Henry from Sauk Centre (MN) has been perfect so far in 2013 with three feature event wins and the point lead.  He moved up from twelfth starting position in the seventeen car field to win the first race and from fifth up to the front in the second feature event
Brent “the freight train” Kane extended his point lead and was runner up in both Thunder Car features.  Ted Reuvers from Dundas (MN) won the first race and Conrad Jorgenson from Lakeville (MN) lead the entire second feature flag to flag.


Paul Hamilton from Hastings (MN) was the big winner in the Power Stock division, the previous week he lost by just .142 seconds to point leader John Lebens.  This week he got out front and stretched the lead to win by just over two seconds.  Tom Doten came through the field to capture second place with Shawn Evans leading some laps and finishing third.  Todd Tacheny from Mankato (MN) was declared the winner in the Flag pole race.

Jack Purcell from Bloomington (MN) won the Mini Stock main event, and Justin Schelitzche took home the top prize in the Flag pole race.

The evening was capped off with a wild Figure 8 school bus race, Dan Riggs and Cane Peterson from 96.3 K-Twin radio drove busses in a race that was not approved of by bus monitors all across Minnesota with lots of bumping and contact.

Jim Bendzick and Rolling Thunder put on a Monster Truck exhibition and the Timberworks Lumber Jacks entertained the crowd.  Kids enjoyed the free carnival rides and the brave ones took their turn riding the free mechanical bull.

Next at Elko Speedway is the ARCA Racing Series Akona 250 presented by Federated Car Care.  On track autograph session begins at 6:30pm with racing at 8pm.  Get more information by calling (952) 461-7223 or go to www.arcaracing.comor www.elkospeedway.com

Comments are closed.