(RACE RECAP) June 18th, 2022 Eve Of Destruction

June 18th, 2022 – Elko, MN

By Jason D Searcy

June 18, 2022 – Elko, MN

A large and enthusiastic crowd was in attendance for a fathers day weekend Eve of Destruction at Elko Speedway.

Jake Ryan #19 from Elko (MN) won the first of two 25 lap main events in the NASCAR sanctioned Late Model division sponsored by The Car Lot in New Prague (MN). Jake Ryan, son of ELKO Hall of Fame driver Dan Ryan, is a former Big 8 division Champion at ELKO and has taken some time off, it was his first win at Elko Speedway since 2015. Ryan was challenged by #6 Owin Giles who finished just 0.199 second behind to finish second, defending Late Model Champion #72 Jacob Goede was third just 0.262 behind the winner. Jeremy Wolff #32 led some laps and finished fourth, #21 Adam Bendzick fifth and fast-timer #52 Chad Walen sixth of the 24 cars entered.

The second Late Model feature winner was #52 Chad Walen from Prior Lake (MN). Walen had his classic 1957 Ford truck on display at the MN State Fairgrounds during “Back to the 50’s” on Friday and then Saturday he started the second feature in the 8th position, sliced through the field, and won. 15 year old #6 Adam Ratliff led some laps, raced side by side with the winner and finished the race in second, he was only 0.541 seconds behind the leader, #10 Dusty Mann finished third, 9-time Elko Speedway champion #41 Donny Reuvers was fourth and #32 Jeremy Wolff was fifth of the impressive 24 car field. Second year driver Tommy Peterson #99 led the first 8 laps of the race but finished 18th.

Chad Walen is the current Late Model point leader at ELKO, he has a 24 point lead over Jacob Goede.

The NASCAR sanctioned Thunder Cars raced two 20 lap features at Elko Speedway. The first winner was Brent Kane #99 from Lonsdale (MN), Kane is a former 4-time ELKO Thunder Car Champion who has well over 100 wins in his career. In recent years he has taken some time off, it was his first Thunder Car win since 2018. Kane was the fast qualifier and started the race 8th on the grid, he won by 1.086 seconds over #3 Conrad Jorgenson, #41 Ben Gannon led many laps and finished 3rd, #9 Adam Wiebusch was fourth and #07 Dillon Sellner was fifth of the 11 cars racing.

Dillon Sellner #07 from Randolph (MN) won the second Thunder Car feature, it is his second feature win of the season at ELKO. Sellner had a successful weekend after winning the Tim Myer memorial invitational race Friday night at Tomah-Sparta (WI) Speedway. Conrad Jorgenson #3 finished 1.227 seconds behind to score a second place finish, Adam Wiebusch #9 was third, #14 Tony Holm was fourth and #09 Matt Wiebush was fifth of the 11 cars entered.

Conrad Jorgenson has a 9 point lead over Brent Kane in the current Thunder Car standings.

16 year old Colin Stocker from Northfield (MN) won the first of two 20 lap INEX sanctioned Great North Legends main events Saturday night at ELKO. Stocker was the fast-qualifier so he started the race way back in the 10th position but he worked his way up to the lead quickly, he held the top spot by lap 3 and then won by 2.646 seconds. The best competition was for the runner up position, #33 Ryan Rose edged #75 Baiden Heskett by 0.185 seconds to finish in the second position. Jon Lemke #71 was fourth and defending Champion #87 Robby Carter was fifth of the 14 cars entered.

The second Legends feature winner was veteran driver #71 Jon Lemke from Savage (MN), he had a great side by side battle with 2018 Champion #75 Baiden Heskett. They raced inches apart numerous laps but Lemke held on from the high side to edge Heskett by 0.061 seconds at the finish line, it was the second win of the season for Lemke. Heskett was second, Colin Stocker #8 was third, #64 Tyler Ledbetter fourth and #33 Ryan Rose fifth of the 14 cars racing.

Baiden Heskett now leads Colin Stocker by 6 points in the battle for the Great North Legends Championship.

The NASCAR sanctioned full bodied Power Stocks raced two 20 lap features during Eve of Destruction at Elko Speedway on Saturday night.

Joe Prusak #66 from Clayton (WI) won the first Power Stock main event, Prusak started the race in the 10th position and was able to work his way up to the front by mid-race, he won by an impressive 3.176 seconds, it was his second win of the season and 209th win of his career. Defending Champion #88 Nick Oxborough was the fast-timer, he made a bold move on the last lap weaving through cars and moving up to the runner-up position, #3 Jimmie Jorgenson was third, #08 Mike Stoer fourth and #8 Eric Montour fifth of the 16 cars entered.

Matt Frye #13 from Bloomington (MN) won the second 20 lap Power Stock feature, he had a numerous lap great battle side by side with #88 Nick Oxborough and then beat him on a drag race to the checkers by 0.180 seconds. Oxborough was second, #57 Jesse Fischer third, #08 Mike Stoer fourth and #8 Eric Montour fifth of the 16 cars racing.

Nick Oxborough has a 6 point lead over Mike Stoer in the race for the Power Stock Championship at ELKO.

The kids in the INEX Bandolero’s division raced two 12 lap features during Eve of Destruction at Elko Speedway, this is a division that had drivers ranging from 8-14 years old.

Danny Mann #10 from Elko (MN) won the first race in exciting fashion, he passed two cars in the last set of corners to take his second win of the season. Leighton Rose #18 was in contention for the win on the last lap held on to finish second place, #13 Ayden Brockhouse was third, #27 Riley Goodwin fourth and #56 Clayton Dorner was fifth of the 9 cars entered. Mark Anderson Jr #57 nearly got the win but spun after contact in the last turn and was credited with 6th.

The second Bando feature was won by a driver from Arden Hills (MN) #57 Mark Anderson Jr, he survived some contact on the last lap and won by 1.365 seconds, it was his first win at Elko Speedway. Riley Goodwin #27 finished second, #56 Clayton Dorner was third, #10 Danny Mann nearly had the clean sweep but came up just short in the last set of corners and slipped back to fourth, #5 Christopher Flynn scored his first Top 5 finish. It was the first win at ELKO for Mark Anderson Jr, he is the son of 1999 Elko Speedway Super Truck Champion Mark Anderson.

Leighton Rose now has a 1 point lead over Danny Mann in the current Bando’s point standings at Elko Speedway.

All results and points are unofficial at the time of this release.

Courtney Buckner from Bloomington (MN), won the spectator drags driving a 1987 Chevrolet Corvette.

The ATV big air show and BMX big air put on a great display of action athletics, Monster Trucks Mechanical Mischief and Barely Tame thrilled the crowd and the Figure 8 School Bus races ended the night with a bang as per usual.

Coming up next at Elko Speedway are the stars of the NASCAR ARCA Menards series on Saturday June 25th, gates open at 2pm, ARCA qualifying at 5pm, ELKO local NASCAR divisions at 6pm, on-track autograph session at 7pm and green flag at 8:30pm. Buy tickets at your local Menards or at ElkoSpeedway.com

Comments are closed.