(RACE RECAP) June 17, 2023 Eve Of Destruction

June 17, 2023 – Elko, MN

By Jason D Searcy

A huge crowd attended a fathers day weekend Eve of Destruction at Elko Speedway on Saturday night sponsored by Interim HealthCare Staffing.

9-time ELKO premier division Champion #72 Jacob Goede from Carver (MN) won the first of two 25 lap main events in the NASCAR sanctioned Late Model division. Goede took the lead off the start and led every lap of this cautionless race, it was his first win of the season at ELKO. Ryan Varner #31 finished second 0.799 seconds behind Goede. Jake Ryan #19 was third, #3 Chris Marek fourth and #8 Billy Mohn fifth of the 18 cars entered. Fast qualifier #94 Hunter Covell-Paine finished 6th.

The second Late Model feature was won by Jake Ryan from Elko (MN), it was his second win of the season. This race was also raced without a caution for all 25 laps. Billy Mohn #8 finished 2.516 seconds behind in second, #6 Owin Giles won a great side by side battle with Jacob Goede for the third position, Goede was fourth and Chris Marek finished fifth.

Jacob Goede now has a two point lead over Jake Ryan in the early season battle for the ELKO Late Model points Championship.

The NASCAR sanctioned Thunder Cars raced two 20 lap features during Eve of Destruction at Elko Speedway.

The first race was won by 2016 champion Jeremy Wolff #32 from Chaska (MN), Wolff was pressured by second place finisher #29 Tommy Sorem who finished just 0.244 seconds behind. Dillon Sellner #07 finished third, #99 Brent Kane who swept the races on opening night finished fourth and #8 Taylor Goldman was fifth of the nine cars entered. It was the first win of the season at ELKO for Wolff.

The second feature was won by #07 Dillon Sellner from Randolph (MN), Brandon Peterson led the first five laps until Sellner grabbed the top spot and held on for the win after a couple caution periods. Brent Kane was 0.49 seconds behind to finish second, Jeremy Wolff was third, #88 Jason Novak fourth and Tommy Sorem fifth. It was the first win of the season at ELKO for Sellner.

Brent Kane now leads Dillon Sellner by 1 point in the early season point standings at Elko Speedway.

The INEX sanctioned Legends division raced two 20 lap features during Eve of Destruction at ELKO.

The first feature had a thrilling finish as defending Champion Colin Stocker #8 from Northfield edged 2018 Champion #75 Baiden Heskett by just 0.009 seconds at the finish line. 13 year old Ayrton Brockhouse was the fast qualifier, he set a new track record time of 15.568 seconds, he finished third. Dirk Henry #3 was fourth and #64 Tyler Ledbetter fifth of the 22 cars entered. It was the first win of the season for Stocker.

The second Legends race was won by #75 Baiden Heskett who is formerly from Texas and now lives in Hastings (MN). Ayrton Brockhouse hounded Heskett throughout the race and finished just behind in second. Colin Stocker was third, Dirk Henry fourth and #87 Robby Carter was fifth. This was the third win of the season for Heskett at ELKO.

It’s a tight battle for the early season point lead at ELKO with Baiden Heskett, Ayrton Brockhouse and Colin Stocker all within 10 points of each other.

The NASCAR sanctioned Power Stocks raced two 20 lap feature events over Fathers Day weekend at Elko Speedway.

Five-time Elko Speedway Champion #88 Nick Oxborough from Lakeville (MN) dominated the first race by leading every lap and winning by 4.555 seconds. Mike Stoer #08 edged #83 Julie Jorgenson for the runner-up position. Dusty Mann #10 was fourth and #3 Jimmie Jorgenson was fifth of the 13 cars entered. It was the first win of the season for Oxborough, who missed opening night.

The second Power Stock feature event was won by fifth place starter Julie Jorgenson #83 from Lakeville (MN). Nick Oxborough, who started 8th, raced up to finish in second, he was 0.303 seconds behind at the line. Jimmie Jorgenson finished third, #57 Jesse Fischer fourth and Mike Stoer fifth. It was the second win of the season for Julie Jorgenson.

Julie Jorgenson, Jimmie Jorgenson and Dusty Mann are all within 5 points of each other in the race for the 2023 Power Stock point title at this point.

The INEX sanctioned Bandoleros, a division for kids ages 7-14, raced two 12 lap feature events during Eve of Destruction at ELKO.

The first race was won by #07 Jackson Kottschade from Ramsey (MN), after taking all of 2022 off racing, Jackson won for the first time in 2023 at ELKO. #32 Colton Roe Perschall finished 1.1 seconds behind in second, #18 Leighton Rose was third, #75 Logen Carter fourth and #5 Christopher Flynn was fifth of the 11 cars entered.

The second Bando race was won by #18 Leighton Rose from Elko (MN), Jackson Kottschade was 0.399 seconds behind in second, Colton Roe Perschall third, Logen Carter fourth and #11 Macie Ryan was fifth. It was the first win of the season at ELKO for Leighton Rose.

Jackson Kottschade, Leighton Rose and Colton Roe Perschall are all within 5 points of each other in the early season race for the 2024 Bando point title at Elko Speedway.

All results and points are unofficial at this time, get more detailed information at ElkoSpeedway.com/race-results/

The big Eve of Destruction crowd was entertained by professional driver Austin Matta and the rest of the drifter cars.

Matthew Cummings from Florida and Tommy Varilone from Michigan drove Boss Gator and Lone Wolf Monster Trucks crushing cars and having big air.

Austin Matta from Shakopee won the Spectator Drags

The Circus act Wheel of Destiny entertained the crowd on the concourse and the race night ended with a big rollover during the School Bus Races.

Up next at Elko Speedway is the NASCAR ARCA Menards series on Saturday June 24, 2023. The local NASCAR divisions qualify at 4:30, ARCA series at 5pm. Late Models, Thunder Cars and Power Stocks features begin at 6pm. On-track Autograph session 7-8pm, ARCA Menards 250 presented by Starkey Hearing begins at 8:30pm.

Advance tickets available at your local Twin Cities Menards stores and at ElkoSpeedway.com

Comments are closed.