(RACE RECAP) July 2nd, 2022 Eve Of Destruction

By Jason D Searcy

July 2, 2022- Elko, MN

Elko Speedway fans packed the stands during the Independence Day Holiday weekend at Elko Speedway for Eve of Destruction.

The NASCAR sanctioned Late Model division sponsored by The Car Lot of New Prague (MN) raced two exciting 25 lap feature events.

The first race had Steve Anderson Jr #50 from Lakeville (MN) winning his first career feature event at Elko Speedway. Anderson is the son of Steve Anderson who was the 1984 Road-Runner division Elko Speedway Champion. Anderson took over the lead at the half-way mark and never looked back, winning by 2.484 seconds. Bryce Blohm #37 a former two-time Thunder Car champion in his first year racing Late Models led some laps and finished second, #19 Jake Ryan had the fastest lap of the race and was third, #31 Ryan Varner fourth, fast-qualifier #52 Chad Walen was fifth and defending Champion #72 Jacob Goede started 12 and finished 6th in his primary car after racing his back-up car the last couple weeks.

The second Late Model feature event had Bryan Wrolstad #13 from Faribault (MN) winning by 2.283 seconds, he is the sixth different winner in the 7 races so far in 2022 at ELKO. Jeremy Wolff #32 finished second, #21 Adam Bendzick was third, #72 Jacob Goede fourth and #52 Chad Walen fifth. Ryan Kamish, who led the first five laps had some trouble and finished 17th in the impressive 20 car field.

Chad Walen now leads Jacob Goede by 34 points in the race for the Elko Speedway Late Model division Championship.

The NASCAR Thunder Car division raced two 20 lap feature events, the first race was won by #99 Brent Kane from Lonsdale (MN) by just 0.855 seconds, it was his third win of the season at ELKO. Conrad Jorgenson #3 was fast-qualifier, had the fastest lap in the race and had a big lead mid-race but the field was bunched up after a caution and Kane edged out in front with five laps to go. Defending Champion #07 Dillon Sellner got caught up with the Wiebusch brothers early in the race sustaining some damage but continuing on to finish third. Ben Gannon #41 was fourth and Adam Wiebusch #9 finished the race fifth of the 11 cars entered.

The second Thunder Car feature had Conrad Jorgenson #3 from Lakeville (MN) grabbing the lead on lap three, scoring the fastest lap of the race and holding on for his second win of the season at ELKO. Dillon Sellner #07 finished 0.427 seconds behind for the runner-up position. Early leader #41 Ben Gannon was third, #9 Adam Wiebusch fourth and #8 Taylor Goldman was fifth.

Conrad Jorgenson now has a 19 point lead over Brent Kane and 20 point lead over Dillon Sellner in the 3-way race for the Elko Speedway Thunder Car Championship.

A huge field of 21 Great North Legends took to the track during Eve of Destruction at Elko Speedway. Fast-qualifier #8 Colin Stocker from Northfield (MN) started the race 9th and moved up into the lead by the half-way mark, he scored the fastest lap and then outran #75 Baiden Heskett by 0.488 seconds for the win. It was the second win of the season at ELKO for Stocker. Defending Champion Robby Carter #87 was third, #3 Dirk Henry fourth and #64 Tyler Ledbetter fifth.

The second 20 lap INEX sanctioned feature for the Great North Legends had 2020 Champion Tim Brockhouse #13 from Shakopee (MN) lead every lap and win for the 241st time in his career. Another veteran driver #71 Jon Lemke challenged Brockhouse the entire race and finished just 0.286 second behind for the runner-up position. 2019 Champion #75 Baiden Heskett scored the fastest lap of the race and finished third, #87 Robby Carter was fourth and #8 Colin Stocker raced up from his 14th starting position to finish fifth. It was the first win of the season at ELKO for Brockhouse.

After 6 races Colin Stocker and Baiden Heskett now are tied for the point lead in the Great North Legends division at Elko Speedway.

The NASCAR Power Stocks raced 20 lap feature events for the sold-out crowd at Elko Speedway on Saturday night. In the first feature 2016 Champion #62 Tom Doten from St Paul (MN) led from flag to flag to take home his first win of 2022. After the race Doten donated his trophy to Scott Hayden, a veteran in the crowd, in honor of the Independence day Holiday. Mike Stoer #08 was just 0.235 seconds behind to finish second, #66 Joe Prusak was third, fast-qualifier #88 Nick Oxborough started 9th, had the fastest lap in the race and finished fourth, #13 Matt Frye was fifth of the 14 cars entered.

The second Power Stock feature had #57 Jesse Fischer from Eagan (MN) in his Red, White and Blue colored car winning for the second time of the season. Nick Oxborough #88 had the fastest lap of the race and finished second to Fisher by 1.587 seconds, #56 Paul Hamilton was third, #13 Matt Frye fourth and #66 Joe Prusak fifth.

Four-time Champion Nick Oxborough now has a 23 point lead over Joe Prusak and 26 point lead over Mike Stoer in the race for the 2022 Power Stock Championship at ELKO.

The INEX Bandolero division had two very exciting 12 lap feature events during Eve of Destruction at Elko Speedway. Danny Mann #10 from Elko (MN) had the fastest lap of the race, took the lead with three laps remaining and won the first race by 1.037 seconds, it was the 3rd win of the season for Mann. Mark Anderson Jr was in the hunt for the win throughout and finished second, #18 Leighton Rose was third, #27 Riley Goodwin fourth and #32 Colton Roe Pershall fifth of the 10 cars racing. Ayden Brockhouse #13 led some laps but then had mechanical problems and finished 10th.

The second Bando feature had a great 3-wide battle to the finish, Leighton Rose #18 from Elko (MN) won for the second time this season at ELKO. Mark Anderson Jr #57 had the fastest lap of the race and finished 0.075 seconds behind for second place, #27 Riley Goodwin was third, #32 Jake Lipinski fourth and #89 Makaydee Konop was fifth. Danny Mann #10 was in contention for the win but spun coming out of the final corner and ended going backwards across the finish line to score 6th place.

Leighton Rose now has a 7 point lead over Danny Mann in the race for the Bando Championship at ELKO.

All points and results are unofficial at the time of this release.

Legendary Monster truck Carolina Crusher and Mechanical Mischief Monster trucks thrilled the crowd, Magdatude Jet Truck melted two cars down to their frames, ATV Big Air put on a show of action athletics, Drifters smoked the crowd and School bus figure 8 races are always a big show.

Robert Michaels won the spectator drags in his 2014 Ford Taurus.

The night ended in a salute to American Independence with a huge display of fireworks.

Up next at Elko Speedway is another Eve of Destruction on Saturday July 16th with 2 Monster Trucks, Drifters, a Trampoline show, Renaissance festival acts, School Bus races, Spectator drags and Racing in all 5 divisions.

Elko Speedway is a NASCAR sanctioned 3/8th mile asphalt oval race track with stadium seating located 30 minutes South of the Twin Cities in Elko/New Market MN. Get more information at ElkoSpeedway.com

Comments are closed.