May 24th, 2014 Race Night Recap

May 24, 2014 – Elko, MN

By Jason D Searcy

Derek Lemke from Shakopee (MN) won the MN Corn Growers NASCAR Whelen All American series Super Late Model 40 lap feature event at Elko Speedway on Memorial weekend Saturday night.

The 20 year old Lemke was very close to winning a Super Late Model race last year but was shut out two different times on a last lap pass. This year it was a different story as he increased his lead on the white flag lap. “I was thinking, just keep the car straight and keep it off the wall and not get too excited when dad (his spotter) was telling me one to go” said Lemke.

Derek Lemke won by .932 seconds over fast qualifier Paul Paine from Mound (MN) who drove a majority of the race without power steering, Paine held off the charges of Jason Schneider and Mark Lamoreaux to nail down the runner up spot. Paine now leads in the season point standings by 8 points over Jacob Goede who finished in the 9th position in this competitive 17 car field at Elko Speedway.

2013 Big 8 Point Champion Chris Marek from Lakeville (MN) won the feature event by .764 seconds over Michael Beamish from Eagan (MN). Beamish was leading the race when he narrowly avoided disaster by dodging a car as it was exiting the track, Beamish hit the brakes and opened the door for Marek who took the lead and never gave it up. Marek now leads Beamish by 5 pts in the point standings after winning the first two features of the year.

Brandon Peterson from Fairbault (MN) won an eventful 20 lap Pepsi Power Stock race at Elko Speedway. Peterson and Todd Tachney from Mankato (MN) battled to the checkered flag with Peterson winning by a minuscule .008 seconds. “I got a little loose coming out of the fourth corner and ended up banging up some other cars for the finish, it was a wild finish and an exciting race,” said Peterson. Brandon is racing his rookie year in the Power stocks in memory of his step-dad Scott Kingery who recently passed away, “he did a lot for me and I wanted to race in memory of him, its just me giving thanks for what he had done for me” said Peterson. Taylor Goldman from Minnetonka (MN) took over the early season point lead by one point over both Nick Oxborough and Grant Brown.

Brent Kane from Lonsdale (MN) won the 19 car Genz-Ryan 25 lap Thunder Car main event. He came from fifth on the starting grid to take over the lead and then hold off Conrad Jorgenson from Lakeville (MN) to win by .315 seconds. 2013 Champion Brent Kane is now again the point leader, he leads Ted Reuvers by five points and Jeremy Wolff by 6 in the standings.

Tyler Sjoman from Alexandria (MN) won his second straight Great North Legends main event at the Midwest Center for Speed. Sjoman started 12th in this 18 car field, he worked his way up to the top spot by mid-race and held off Shon Jacobsen of East Bethel (MN) by .338 seconds at the finish line. Sjoman now leads Jacobsen by 11 points in the standings at Elko Speedway.

Brian Adams from Norwood (MN) won the Mini Stock feature event after starting 8th on the grid of 15 cars. “I basically was patient and picked the right spots, go at the right time and it worked to my favor,” said Adams. Tyler Christensen from Bloomington (MN) came from 10th to move up to the runner up position at the Checkered flag. Christensen now leads Justin Schelitzche by one in the championship point standings.

Bob Heine from New Prague (MN) won the IMCA Old-Timers race, he drove a 1969 Chevelle to the Elko Speedway victory lane.

For full results go to www.ElkoSpeedway.com and click RESULTS.

The first Eve of Destruction of the year will take place at Elko Speedway at 7pm on Saturday May 31 presented by the New Prague Auto group. The program will include double features plus, the Timberworks Lumber Jacks, Dueling Monster trucks, Spectator drags, Outhouse races, Flag pole race, a School bus race, Free Mechanical bull rides and much more. The Johnny Holm band will play a free concert after the races in Champions Event Centre.

For more information on fun family entertainment follow Elko Speedway on Facebook, Twitter and YouTube, go to www.ElkoSpeedway.com or call (952) 461-RACE

Comments are closed.

Warning: Undefined variable $aria_req in /var/www/html/wp-content/themes/elkospeedway/comments.php on line 80

Warning: Undefined variable $aria_req in /var/www/html/wp-content/themes/elkospeedway/comments.php on line 82