June 29th, 2013: Eve of Destruction Race Results

June 29, 2013 – Elko, MN

Donny Reuvers from Dundas (MN) won both NASCAR Whelen All American series Super Late Model features during the Eve of Destruction RAW event at Elko Speedway. Both races played out nearly identically as Reuvers started outside the second row and had numerous battles with Chad Walen before making the pass and holding off point leader Adam Royle for both wins. “This track promotes such good side by side racing and passing,” said Reuvers “you don’t get a lot of cautions.”

Adam Royle held on to this point lead by finishing second in both races, he holds a ten point lead over Reuvers.

The great weather helped bring out a huge crowd to watch the races on Saturday night, “It’s so much fun to look over and see the grandstand full and for the racing to be so good, it’s awesome” said Reuvers.

The Big 8 division has now seen six different winners in the eight feature races at Elko Speedway. Dylan Moore from Northfield (MN) held off Nick Beaver by just .294 in the first race and Travis Stanley from Prior Lake (MN) won the second race by two seconds over Jon Lemke. Chris Marek now leads by 9 points over Moore in the standings.

Thunder Car driver Michael Gilomen from Northfield (MN) won for the first time at Elko Speedway since 2007 in feature number one. “To get a win in this division is huge,” said Gilomen “really stiff competition, and to be in that elite group and get a win is pretty awesome.” Daryl Blohm from Elko (MN) won the second Thunder Car main event holding off point leader Brent Kane by less than one second a the finish line. Kane leads Blohm by 13 points in the standings.

Tyler Sjoman from Alexandria (MN) had a clean sweep in the Great North Legends division after beating Ted Hough by .951 in the feature event, that is two victorious weekend in a row for Sjoman. With that good run Hough now takes over the point lead by just two points over Michael Ostdiek.

Jon Lebens from Shakopee (MN) is having a good start to the season in the Power Stock division by winning for the second time in 2013 at Elko Speedway and holding on to the point lead over Paul Hamilton by six points. “All I think about is keeping my car smooth, to me smoother is faster,” said Lebens.

John Vandenheuvel from Lakeville (MN) won the 15 lap main event in the Mini Stock division. Instead of the modified oval used in the past, they raced on the full course for the first time and without major incident. Vandenheuvel is now just four points behind point leader Jack Purcell in the standings.

Brent Kane won an eventful figure 8 school bus race that saw a bus roll onto its side causing a red flag. Wild racing was also done in the spectator drags.

The night was also full of non racing events: Jennifer Smith was successfully shot out of a cannon 125 feet into a net and the POW-MIA tribute 1955 drag car was driven by Max Loffgren. Ryan Rice destroyed some cars in the Incinerator Monster Truck, the Rich Weiber freestyle bikes and the Vertical Mischief freestyle Motorcycles also put on a show for the huge crowd.

Next action at Elko Speedway is Saturday July 6th with the NASCAR Whelen All American series and seven divisions of racing. Free Carnival rides and Minnesota Music Hall of Fame performer Johnny Holm in Champions bar after the races. Gates open at 5pm, racing a 7pm.

Get more information by calling (952) 461-7223 or go to www.elkospeedway.com. Follow Elko Speedway on twitter, like us on facebook and see video’s on youtube.

Comments are closed.

Warning: Undefined variable $aria_req in /var/www/html/wp-content/themes/elkospeedway/comments.php on line 80

Warning: Undefined variable $aria_req in /var/www/html/wp-content/themes/elkospeedway/comments.php on line 82