June 27th, 2015 Race Recap

By Jason D Searcy

June 27, 2015 – Elko, MN

Jacob Goede from Carver (MN) continued his incredible string of great finishes in the NASCAR Whelen All American series MN Corn Growers Super Late Model division at Elko Speedway with his fifth win in seven opportunities so far in 2015.

Goede started 7th in a field of 20, Derek Lemke lead the first half of the 40 lap feature before Billy Moen took over the top spot, Moen was then quickly swallowed up by Goede who lead for the final 14 laps of the race.

Goede held off veteran driver (1976 Champion) Mark Lamoreaux by .374 seconds at the finish line for the win, with Moen rounding out the top 3. Goede now holds a 54 point lead over Nick Panitzke and 55 points over his brother Matt Goede in the standings.

Three time Champion Conrad Jorgenson from Lakeville (MN) finally swore off his bad luck and won the Genz-Ryan Thunder Car 20 lap main event.

Harm Alken took the early lead until point leader Jeremy Wolff took over with 15 laps to go, Conrad Jorgenson then slipped past Wolff at the half-way point and took home the hardware for his first win of 2015. He won by 2.368 over Wolff and 4.035 seconds over Tina Davis who finished third.

Three time Champion Brent Kane wrecked and hit the wall on lap 6, he finished 13th and went to the hospital for observation, Kane remains second in the point standings, 10 points behind Jeremy Wolff.

The Pepsi Power Stock main event was full of drama from start to finish. In the end it was Dusty Mann from Farmington (MN) declared the winner. Mann lead most of the 20 lap race but ran out of fuel on the last lap, was passed by Nick Oxborough and crossed the line second. “The car was running out of gas for four laps before the end, I started swerving, trying to slosh the fuel around in the tank just hoping to hang on,” said Mann “once we were out of gas, there wasn’t much I could do but just coast.”

Defending Champion Oxborough and his fans were jubilant in victory lane with the dramatic last lap win but that all changed when he was disqualified after post race inspection. “Nick came up to me in the tech barn (before inspection) and said that he hates to win one that way and we shook hands,” said Mann “then ten minutes later he ended up getting DQ’d and I ended up going back to him and saying that I hate to win one that way.”

“It was a great night overall for us, I want to thank Paul Hamilton and his crew for letting me race his spare car, I just like to have fun for as long as they will let me do it,” said Mann. The results don’t lie, Mann won the feature and became the sixth different winner in 8 races so far in 2015. Taylor Goldman scored a second place finish and point leader Tom Doten was credited with third, now he has a 26 point lead over Cole Neisius and 28 points over Goldman in the standings.

Defending Champion Chris Marek from Lakeville (MN) won another Hiway Federal Credit Untion BIG 8 Late Model feature event at Elko Speedway. Marek edged Michael Ostdiek by 1.065 seconds at the finish line of this 25 lap event to win his 6th trophy in 9 races so far in 2015. Marek now has a 44 point lead over both Ryan Kamish and Dylan Moore in the standings.

Brady Fox-Rhode from Loretto (MN) has lead the point standings all year in the Great North Legends but has not won since week two of the season. That changed with a win on Saturday night at Elko Speedway. Fox-Rhode passed Robby Carter with 7 laps to go and held off Jaycen Brockhouse by only .130 seconds at the line to take the victory.

23 cars started the 20 main event and everyone finished on the lead lap with the exception of Matt Ostdiek who hit the wall hard in corner number four, did major damage to his car and did not finish the race. This is a very evenly matched division with five different winners in seven races so far in 2015. Brady Fox-Rhode has a 12 point lead over Derek Lemke in the standings.

Alex Vincent from Owatonna (MN) won his first ever Hornets feature event at Elko Speedway and he had to hold off the current point leader Justin Schelitzche for the win, “It was a little nerve-wracking I knew it would be hard to stay in front of him, so I just ran my line and stayed out front, it was fun” said Vincent. This is the third year of racing for Vincent and it was his first win, “it’s great, my family has put in a lot of time and working hard on the car and the hard work is starting to pay off, it feels good” said Vincent.

Schelitzche now has a 24 point lead over Ashley Bell in the Hornets point standings.

The new Hornets Figure 8 division ran two exciting 15 lap feature events. Troy Tuma from Waseca (MN) won the first race and Dan McCarthy from Bloomington (MN) won the second. Both features were full of close calls and near collisions in the “X,” Brian Adams drove Brandon Olsons’ car to a second place finish in both the races.

12 year old Owin Giles from New Market (MN) won his 3rd feature of the year in the Bandolero division. Giles holds a 27 point lead over Luke Allen in the standings.

For Full Results and Point Standings go to www.ElkoSpeedway.com and Click RESULTS.

Coming up next at Elko Speedway will be an Independence day celebration Eve of Destruction on Saturday night July 4th. Expect racing in the NASCAR Whelen All American Series plus a HUGE Fireworks show, Dueling Monster Trucks, School Bus races, Spectator Drags and much more including a free concert by Johnny Holm after the races in Champions Event Center at Elko Speedway located 20 minutes South of the Twin Cities just off of I-35 and County Road 2. Gates open at 5pm with action beginning at 6pm.

For more information follow Elko Speedway on Facebook, Twitter and YouTube, call (952) 461-7223 or go to ElkoSpeedway.com

Comments are closed.

Warning: Undefined variable $aria_req in /var/www/html/wp-content/themes/elkospeedway/comments.php on line 80

Warning: Undefined variable $aria_req in /var/www/html/wp-content/themes/elkospeedway/comments.php on line 82