July 13th, 2013 Winners

Elko MN – July 13, 2013

Chad Walen from Prior Lake (MN) won his second feature of the year in the NASCAR Whelen All American series Super Late Model division at on Saturday night. Walen has not won since opening night at Elko Speedway, “It’s been a while,” said Walen “we’ve been a little off and kept dialing our self out, tonight we got it right.”

Walen ran out to a huge lead early in the race but then a couple cautions near the end of the 40 lap feature bunched up the field. “You look back at my wins and none have come easy,” said Walen “so I was waiting for a caution.”

Walen lost a race a couple weeks ago by taking the low side on lane choice. This time he chose the high side and held off the hard charges of Matt Ostdiek, Dan Fredrickson and Adam Royle for the win. “I wanted to go low,” said Walen “but, because of last time I went high.”

Point leader Royle finished 14th after a crash but still holds onto a 7 point lead over Donny Reuvers who finished 6th. Chad Walen closed to within 26 points of the lead with the win.

Dylan Moore from Northfield (MN) came from the third row outside to win the 25 lap Big 8 feature event. Moore finished just .214 seconds ahead of Kyle Kirberger who lead most of the race. Moore now has a slim one point lead over Chris Marek in the season point standings at Elko Speedway.

Michael Ostdiek from Lakeville (MN) won the Great North Legends 20 lap main event, he started 10th in the field of 19 cars. “The key to the race was patience,” said Ostdiek “you have to see how everything turns out and execute on things.” Ostdiek picked the high side on lane choice to seal the victory “I prefer the outside lane,” said Ostdiek “I like to drive it in hard and get on it quick.” This was the second straight win for Ostdiek at Elko Speedway, he extended his point lead to 15 points over Shon Jacobsen.

Brent Kane from Lonsdale (MN) won an entertaining Thunder Car 25 lap main event. Dustin Mann had a good lead until a couple late cautions forced a shootout for the top spot. After numerous laps of side by side racing Kane slipped past Mann for his fourth win of the year at Elko Speedway. Kane now leads Daryl Blohm by 16 points in the standings.

Paul Hamilton from Hastings (MN) won his third feature of the year in the 20 lap Power Stock main event. John Lebens finished second and now leads Hamilton in the point standings by only 7 points.

Jared Duda of St Michael (MN) won the Bandoleros main event, he now leads Cole Klein by nine points in the standings.

On Saturday July 20th see six divisions of racing plus, Bill Oas will be inducted into the Elko Speedway Hall of Fame and the inagural Scott Kingery memorial 50 lap Thunder Car race will be held. Also, free carnival rides gates open at 5pm with racing at 7pm.

For more information follow Elko Speedway on Facebook, Twitter and YouTube, go to www.elkospeedway.com or call (952) 461-7223.

Comments are closed.