July 11, 2015 Race Recap

By Jason D Searcy

Elko, MN – July 11, 2015

Jacob Goede from New Germany (MN) is on an incredible roll at Elko Speedway, winning for the 7th time in just 10 races so far this year in the MN Corn Growers Super Late Model division.

Former Raceway Park Champion Chad Walen took the early lead in the 40 lap race, he then fought side by side with former TUNDRA Champion Nick Panitzke for the top spot. Panitzke took the lead on lap 12 before Goede made his way though the pack, on a restart Goede captured the lead and held on the final 15 laps for the win by .656 seconds.

“Elko Speedway is the premiere facility in the country pretty much,” said Goede “for two groove racing, it doesn’t get any better.” Panitzke did not pass post race Tech inspection and was disqualified, Derek Lemke was then scored in second and Matt Goede third in the 19 car field.

Jacob Goede has now taken a commanding lead in the point standings, his closest competitor is his brother Matt now 64 points behind.

Conrad Jorgenson from Lakeville (MN) bested 18 cars and won his third feature in the last four events at Elko Speedway in the NASCAR All American series Genz-Ryan Thunder Car division.

Brent Kane, still driving a replacement car loaned to him by Scott King, took the early lead in the 20 lap feature. It took until half way through the race for Conrad Jorgenson to move up from his 4th row starting spot to Challenge for the lead. Kane protected the bottom groove but Jorgenson finally took the lead with 3 laps remaining and won by 1.37 seconds.

“It’s got to be about 15 years that Brent and I have been racing against each other, it’s been a lot of fun, he is a great competitor,” said Jorgenson. “Everybody we race with (in the Thunder Car division) is fun and most of them are my customers (at Bros Jorgenson racing), I help a lot of guys, you can build a really nice car, not spend a fortune and have a lot of fun.”

It was 20 years ago that Conrad won his first of three Championships at Elko Speedway, he started the season with some bad luck and is not running for points this year, he mentioned that this might be his last full-time season. “I’m building two Power Stocks for my kids to race, we might bring one of them out in the next few weeks, when they are racing I won’t have time to run full-time,” said Jorgenson.

Jeremy Wolff finished 9th but still leads by 8 points over Kane in the race for the Championship.

Chris Marek from Lakeville (MN) won his 7th Hiway Federal Credit Union BIG 8 feature race at Elko Speedway. Marek started 7th in the field of 16 cars, Kyle Kirberger had the early lead, then Dylan Moore took the top spot before Marek grabbed the lead for good and won by .871 seconds over Moore and Michael Beamish.

Marek now has a 48 point lead over Ryan Kamish and 52 point lead over Moore in the race for the title.

Taylor Goldman won her second consecutive Pepsi Power Stock Main event but, it did not come easy. Goldman from Minnetonka (MN) had a furious battle with Tim Hollen side by side and lap after lap through most of the 20 lap feature. The crowd was thrilled by the hard nosed driving and a roar went through the stands as Goldman crossed the line just .105 seconds ahead of Hollen.

Tom Doten finished the feature in 5th spot out of 20 cars, he now leads Goldman by 13 points and Grant Brown by 14 points in the race for the Championship.

Robby Carter from Burnsville (MN) beat 20 other cars and won the 20 lap Great North Legends Main event. Matt Allen had the early lead but could not hold off Carter as he took home the trophy for the 2nd time in 2015. Defending Champion Derek Lemke finished runner up .354 seconds behind Carter.

Derek Lemke now leads his father Jon in the points battle, Derek has a 34 point lead over his Dad and 35 points ahead of Matt Allen who sits in third.

Justin Schelitzche from Lester Prairie (MN) won his third Hornets feature event of the season. Schelitzche dominated the 15 lap affair and won by an entire straight away, he finished 3.903 seconds ahead of Matt Suhl to win the race.

Justin now has a 18 point lead over the other 3 time winner Ashley Bell in the Championship points battle.

Luke Allen from Chanhassen (MN) won the Bandoleros main event and closed to only 8 points behind Owin Giles in the race for the Championship.

For full results and point standings go to www.ElkoSpeedway.com

Up next at Elko Speedway is racing in the NASCAR Whelen All American Series on Saturday July 18th. After the racing Hairball will perform on the outdoor stage. No movie will be shown at the Elko Drive in Theater on this specific race night due to the concert. Gates open at 5pm with action beginning at 6pm at Elko Speedway located 20 minutes South of the Twin Cities, just off of I-35. Get more information by following us on Facebook, YouTube or Twitter, call (952) 461-7223 or go to ElkoSpeedway.com

Comments are closed.