August, 23rd 2014 Eve of Destruction Recap

By Jason D Searcy

August 23, 2014 – Elko, MN

Steve Anderson from Lakeville (MN) won his third NASCAR Whelen All American feature event of the year at Elko Speedway during the Eve of Destruction presented by the MN Professional Towing Association on Saturday night.

Anderson grabbed the top spot and lead from the green flag to checkered flag in the first of two main events in the MN Corn Growers Super Late Model division. “You can’t ask for a better place to start than on the outside of the front row,” said Anderson “the car was good enough to stay up there, I just put the gas to the floor and away I went!” Matt Goede finished second and Dan Fredrickson moved up to third after starting 12th in this 30 lap cautionless race.

Point leader Jacob Goede from Carver (MN) finished fourth in the first feature and then dominated the second feature after starting on the front row. Goede won by 1.046 seconds over Paul Paine with Dan Fredrickson again finishing third.

Goede now has five feature wins at Elko this year, he leads a winless Paul Paine by 9 in the season championship point standings with three points nights remaining in the 2014 season.

Jon Lemke from Shakopee (MN) became the 8th different winner this year in the Big 8 division at Elko Speedway. He lead the entire 20 lap feature and finished .941 seconds ahead of Michael Ostdiek for the win.

Rookie competitor Cole Anderson from Northfield (MN) also won a Big 8 feature event, he raced side by side with Michael Beamish for the first half of the race before finally pulling ahead for his second win of the year. Beamish finished second with Doug Brown in third only 1.1 seconds behind the leader.

Defending Champion Chris Marek finished 4th and 8th in the two races. He still leads in the standings but only by 3 points over Anderson for the top spot.

Brent Kane of Lonsdale (MN) got his 80th career victory on Saturday night. He dominated the first of two Genz-Ryan Thunder Car main events at Elko Speedway. Kane won by 3.13 seconds over Dillon Sellner and the rest of the 20 car field.

Ted Reuvers from Dundas (MN) won the second race. Jeremy Wolff lead most of the race but Reuvers snuck past him just before receiving the white flag. Reuvers won by only .339 seconds to claim his second win of the season.

Conrad Jorgenson finished 4th and 5th in the two races and remains the point leader, he has a 39 point cushion over Wolff in the standings.

Derek Lemke of Shakopee (MN) won the Great North Legends feature. Tim Brockhouse crossed the finish line first but was disqualified in the Garage Door Doctor Tech Shed for a post race violation. Lemke edged Matt Allen by only .232 seconds for the win.

Lemke regained the lead in the standings as previous leader Shon Jacobsen was not able to race. Lemke now has a 22 point lead over Brady Fox-Rhode in the standings.

Tom Doten from St Paul (MN) won the Pepsi Power Stock main event. 23 cars started the race and Cole Neisius crossed the finish line first but was disqualified in post race inspection giving the trophy to Doten. “It’s unfortunate that we have to win that way, but we’ll take it” said Doten.

Doten won his heat race and came from his fourth row starting position to make it up to the front. Rookie competitor Grant Brown lead some laps and had a furious battle with Neisius before dropping a couple positions late in the race.

Nick Oxborough finished 5th and held on to the lead in the standings by 12 points over Grant Brown and Doten is now 22 points out of first in the Power Stock division.

Brian Adams from Shakopee (MN) won his 5th Mini Stock main event at Elko Speedway. Ashley Bell lead early in the 15 lap feature but Adams took the lead with 9 laps remaining and held on by .93 seconds for the win. Bell finished second and Justin Schelitzche came in third.

Brian Adams now has a 42 point lead over Michael Wachs Jr who had mechanical problems and finished 16th in the feature event.

Todd Tacheny from Mankato (MN) and Brandon Olson from Minneapolis (MN) won the fan favorite Flag Pole races at Eve of Destruction.

Dangerous Dan McCarthy performed the Steel Wall Bus stunt in a spectacular fashion and Taylor Goldman won the School Bus figure 8 race. The first ever BUSball event at Elko Speedway was won by the Green team even though the Purple fans believed they were “out of bounds” on their game winning drive.

For full results go to www.ElkoSpeedway.com and click RESULTS

Up next for family fun entertainment just 20 minutes South of the Twin Cities at Elko Speedway is a NASCAR event on Saturday August 30th with seven divisions of racing. Gates open at 5pm and events beginning at 6:00pm and a movie at Champions Drive-in Theater will follow the races.

For more information call (952) 461-RACE or go to www.ElkoSpeedway.com or follow us on Facebook, Twitter or YouTube and use #ElkoSpeedway

Comments are closed.