2015 Season Opener Race Recap

By Jason D Searcy
May 9, 2015 – Elko, MN

The first night of the 50th season of racing at Elko Speedway saw the pits overflowing as 129 cars raced in seven divisions on Season Opener Night presented by Leo’s South.


2014 Minnesota Corn Growers Super Late Model Champion Jacob Goede continued his hot streak at Elko Speedway.  Former Champion Mark Lamoreaux set the early pace in the 40 lap main event.  Jacob Goede from Carver (MN) started the 22 car field in 6th position, he worked his way to the front, took the lead on lap 14 and held on for the win.
9 time Champion Donny Reuvers finished second .527 seconds behind Goede, former TUNDRA Champion Nick Panitzke got third.  Two time Midwest tour Champion Danny Fredrickson had mechanical problems and finished 20th.


Tina Davis from Rosemount (MN) won her first ever Elko Speedway Genz-Ryan Thunder Car main event as the large opening night crowd all rose to their feet.  Davis had a furious side by side battle with Matt Wiebusch for 22 consecutive laps before finally pulling ahead by one car length on the last lap, she held a .29 second margin of victory in the 25 lap feature.  Davis never gave up the bottom grove and drove a near perfect race even though she felt pressure from behind.  The top 7 drivers all finished within 1 second of the lead.Defending Thunder Car Champion Conrad Jorgenson was near the front of the pack the first part of the race but fell out with mechanical problems on lap 10.


17 year old Cole Neisius from Hastings (MN) won the 22 car Pepsi Power Stock main event.  Neisus won from his fourth row inside starting position, he got past Joey Prusak who lead the first half of the race and then he held off another teenager, Grant Brown by 2.24 seconds at the finish line.  Neisus won one race in 2014 but did not compete in every event, he said that he plans to run for points this year and hopes to win the Championship.


Defending Champion Nick Oxborough had some ups and downs, ultimately finishing in the 5th position.
Nothing could slow Chris Marek from Lakeville (MN) as he won the 25 lap Big 8 feature event.  Marek is coming off two consecutive Big 8 Championships at Elko Speedway.  He got to the front early and never looked back, beating Joe Neisus and the other 15 drivers by .819 seconds at the stripe.


Brady Fox-Rhode from Loretto (MN) won the Great North Legends 20 lap main event.  The 2014 Elko Speedway Most Improved Driver Award winner has been traveling this Winter competing in events from Florida to Texas and Nevada.  He won the feature event at Hawkeye Downs (IA) the night before winning the opener at Elko Speedway.  After getting past early leader Matt Allen he bested Shon Jacobsen by .603 seconds at the finish line.  Defending Champion Derek Lemke finshed 6th in the 22 car field.


Ashley Bell from Lester Prairie (MN) won the Hornets 15 lap main event.  Just like Tina Davis, she won her first ever Elko Speedway feature race after years of trying.  Bell and TJ Christensen raced side by side until a caution reset the field on lap 12, Ashley captured the lead at that point and won by .445 seconds at the line.  Bell is a former Champion at KRA Raceway in Willmar and one of the few drivers that excels on both dirt and asphalt tracks in the area.


Luke Allen from Chanhassen (MN) won the Bandolero main event, he bested 7 other young racers to begin the 2015 season at Elko Speedway.


Interviews with these drivers can be seen on our social media pages, just follow Elko Speedway on Facebook, Twitter and Youtube and go to ElkoSpeedway.com for full race results and updated Point Standings.


The next event will be Saturday May 16th with a full night of racing action including the debut race of the new Hornet Figure 8 division.  Spectator gates open at 5pm, action begins at 6pm, opening ceremony at 7pm.  Get more information by calling (952) 461-7223 or go to ElkoSpeedway.com

Comments are closed.