2013 Champions Banquet

October 12, 2013 – Elko, MN

The 2013 race season at Elko Speedway came to an end with the Champions banquet on Saturday night October 12th.

2013 Elko Speedway Champions were crowned:
Super Late Models – Adam Royle
BIG 8 – Chris Marek
Thunder Cars – Brent Kane
Power Stocks – John Lebens
Great North Legends – Michael Ostdiek
Mini stocks – Jack Purcell
Bandolero’s – Jared Duda

Adam Royle was also named the NASCAR Whelen All American series Minnesota state Champion.

2013 Brother’s Jorgenson Rookie’s of the Year were recognized:
Super Late Models – Ryan Wolke
BIG 8 – Kyle Kirberger
Thunder Cars – Matt Weibusch
Power Stocks – Norm Grabinger
Great North Legends – Brady Fox-Rhode
Mini Stocks – Ashley Bell

The drivers with the Most Feature Wins were recognized:
Super Late Models – Adam Royle 7
BIG 8 – Chris Marek 5
Thunder Cars – Brent Kane 8
Power Stocks – John Lebens 4
Great North Legends – Michael Ostdiek 9
Mini Stocks – Jack Purcell 4

Flag Pole Champions:
Power Stocks – Todd Tacheny
Mini Stocks – Justin Schelitzche

Special Awards were presented:
Young Gun – Taylor Goldman (Power Stocks)
Most Improved Driver – Devin Schmidt (Thunder Cars)
Sportsman of the year – Tom Doten (Power Stocks)
Mechanic of the year – Jarry Royle (Super Late Models)
Driver of the year – Michael Ostdiek (Great North Legends)

The preliminary 2014 Elko Speedway race schedule has been released with opening night set for May 17th, 2014. Mini Stocks have been added to the weekly race program to join the Super Late Models, Big 8, Thunder Car, Power Stock, Great North Legends and Bandolero divisions. Seven “Eve of Destruction” events are planned for next summer. Get more information by calling (952) 461-7223 or go to www.elkospeedway.com

Comments are closed.