Recap: June 4th, 2016 ( TEXT ONLY )

By Jason D Searcy

June 4, 2016 – Elko, MN

The MN Corn Growers presented NASCAR Whelen All American Series racing during Tasseldega 2016 at Elko Speedway.

Even though the sky was overcast and some sprinkles hit the ground, a huge crowd walked thorough the gates and were treated to free admission and excellent racing to begin the 2016 racing season.

Jonathan Eilen won for the first time in almost 10 years at his hometown track, the
Hampton (MN) native has spent most of his racing career touring the country in the ARCA Midwest tour where he earned a championship in 2012.

Eilen held off two-time defending Elko Speedway Champion Jacob Goede after a late race restart and won by only .071 seconds. “He was there but I wasn’t going to give him any room,” said Eilen “we have raced quite a bit and he’s always a clean racer.”

Eilen was one of twenty-three MN Corn Growers Super Late Models to start the two main events at Elko Speedway. “To come out here and find victory lane really says something,” remarked Eilen “the competition here is so tough, I don’t think there is any other weekly track where guys are so competitive.”

Eilen has good memories at Elko Speedway, he won a Thunder Car Championship in 2002 and he also won the inaugural race for the Midwest tour at Elko Speedway in 2007. That race was his most recent win at his home track, until Saturday night, that is.

Matt Goede from New Germany (MN) won the other Super Late Model feature, he took the lead early, briefly lost it to Joey Miller mid-race and then retook the top spot and won a drag race to the finish line. Goede had a winning margin of only .048 seconds over Miller.

Two time defending champion Jacob Goede set fast time in group qualifying with a scorching time of 13.696 seconds (98.569 mph). Jacob finished fourth and second in the two feature races to begin the 2016 season.

Three time Elko Champion Doug Brown from Prior Lake (MN) passed two time Dells Raceway Park Champion Nick Nolden from Madison (WI) just before the final lap to score a win in the Hiway Federal Credit Union Big 8 division.

“I didn’t think I would have enough time” said Brown “but once I got to his outside and kept him pinched down it killed a lot of his forward momentum on the exit and I was able to roll around the outside of him.”

Dylan Moore of Northfield (MN) won the other Big 8 race on this double feature night at Elko Speedway. Moore finished on top of the impressive 22 car field, beating Jon Lemke by 1.247 seconds for the win.

Ted Reuvers from Dundas (MN) won the first Genz-Ryan Thunder Car main event, he led every lap and bested Devin Schmidt and the 18 car field by .485 seconds.

Three time Elko Champion Conrad Jorgenson of Lakeville (MN) won the other main event, he dominated this cautionless race and won by 2.182 seconds over Jeremy Wolff.

Twenty-four year old Bryce Blohm from Elko (MN) accomplished something very rare Saturday night, he won a feature event the absolute first time he ever strapped into a race car and it was in one of the toughest divisions you will find anywhere. Blohm started the 20 car Pepsi Power Stock feature race third row outside, he worked his way to the front after multiple cautions and then won by .689 seconds, holding off a former Champion Nick Oxborough for the trophy.

“Coming into turn four (late in the race) I got completely sideways and they threw the caution, I looked in my rear view mirror and there was people spinning out, it was pretty wild there near the end,” said Blohm.

Bryce credits his father Daryl for this opening night success, “he is a huge role model in my life, that is for sure, I’ve learned a lot from him, not just in racing but other things,” said Blohm “we had seven months to build this car and its been a real good learning experience.”

Taylor Goldman from Minnetonka (MN) won the other Power Stock main event, she led early and never looked back, winning by .502 seconds over Tom Quade. Goldman traveled to victory lane four times in 2015 and the beginning of this year looks like a continuation of that same success.

Brady Fox-Rhode from Loretto (MN) won the 1250cc Great North Legends main event during Tasseldega night 2016 at Elko Speedway sponsored by the MN Corn Growers. Two Masters drivers, Greg Erhardt and Shon Jacobsen, swapped the lead early in the race but Fox-Rhode took the lead on lap 8 and never gave it up. Jacobsen finished second by .857 seconds followed by Matt Allen.

Defending Champion Derek Lemke had problems and finished the race 20th of the 22 cars.

Ashley Bell from Minneapolis (MN) won the Hornets main event at Elko. Craig Allers had the lead for a majority of the race but was feeling pressure by the top six cars bunched all together at the top spot. Bell took the lead late in the 15 lap race and then held off former Champion Brian Adams by .573 seconds for the win.

Coy Wulf from Lakeville (MN) won the first Bandolero feature of 2016, he held off a hard charging Luke Allen for the victory.

For full results go to

Coming up at Elko Speedway the MN Lottery presents Eve of Destruction on Saturday June 11th. Cannon Lady and Radical Rob will make their return to Elko along with the Olate’ Dogs, winners of America’s got Talent. JJ Romans motorcycle stunts, Bus racing and much more. Racing in the Super Late Models, Thunder Cars, Power Stocks, Great North Legends and Hornets divisions.

Gates open at 5pm and action begins at 6pm. Get more information by downloading the new ELKO Racing App, free and now available for your smart phone or mobile device. Go to and follow Elko Speedway on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.

Elko Speedway is located 20 min South of the Twin Cities just off of I-35 and County Road 2 in Elko New Market MN.