By Jason D Searcy

June 25, 2016 – Elko, MN

The Minnesota Professional Towing Association presented NASCAR Whelen All American series racing at Elko Speedway on Saturday night. Rain pelted the track at exactly 7pm causing a thirty minute delay for track drying, but after that delay the program went quickly and the true race fans in attendance were treated to a great night of racing.

Steve Anderson #50 from Lakeville (MN) stayed in the top spot from start to finish and won the first MN Corn Growers Super Late Model feature, it was his first win of the year. Anderson darted ahead of #52 Chad Walen for the lead on lap one of the thirty lap event, Walen then faded back. Billy Mohn #8 made his way towards the front, he got past #3 Chris Marek and worked his way up to second by the half-way point in the race. Walen then recovered and drove his way back up to the runner-up position, he finished .381 seconds behind Anderson with #72 Jacob Goede coming all the way from the 11th starting position to finish 3rd, Mohn was 4th and Lamoreaux 5th.

Joey Miller #15 from Lakeville (MN) won the second 30 lap main event, he started 5th in the 16 car field. Paul Paine #27 from Mound (MN) held the early lead with #02 Joey Garofalo following in his tire tracks. Mark Lamoreaux #26 had a fast car but Miller passed him on the low side and then set his sights on the leader, Miller took the lead with 10 laps remaining in the race and never let up. Paul Paine finished second, 2.372 seconds behind Miller with Matt Goede 3rd, Lamoreaux 4th and Jacob Goede 5th.

Miller’s 2nd win of the year put him 2nd in the standings, he is 44 points behind Jacob Goede in the race for the Championship. “We are not playing the points game this year, we are just going for wins, the points will handle itself” said Miller. Anderson’s win put him up to third in the standings, he is 55 points behind Goede.

Three time Champion #14 Doug Brown led the first Hiway Federal Credit Union BIG 8 feature of the night up until #54 Dylan Moore from Northfield (MN) took over the top spot with a big move coming out of corner two with 8 laps to go in the 20 lap main. Moore then held off #5 Todd Kamish by .601 seconds to win his 2nd trophy of 2016, #17 Jon Lemke finished 3rd and Brown was 4th.

Joe Neisius #75 from Rosemount (MN) bested all 20 cars and won the second BIG 8 main event. He led every lap with #13 Bryan Wrolstad on his tail the entire time, Wrolstad finished .715 seconds behind Neisius at the finish. Kulwicki Driver Development Program driver #18 Michael Ostdiek finished 3rd with Dylan Moore scoring the 4th position.

With his two wins, Dylan Moore has the lead in the BIG 8 standings, he leads #17 Jon Lemke by 3 points and Joe Neisius by 11 points in the race for the Championship.

Three time Champion Conrad Jorgenson #3 from Lakeville (MN) did something rarely seen at Elko Speedway, he won a feature event by over half of a lap. Jorgenson won the Genz-Ryan Thunder Car main by an astounding 9.757 seconds over #07 Dillon Sellner with #18 Tina Davis finishing 3rd and #25 Eric Campbell 4th. Jorgenson benefited from a cautionless race and the fact that Davis and #92 Norm Grabinger raced side by side for a majority of the race battling for position and letting Jorgenson “check-out” up front and win his 2nd feature of the year.

Jeremy Wolff #32 from Chaska (MN) won the second main event, he launched past three time winner #8 Ted Reuvers at the start and never looked back even though Jorgenson finished jut 1.568 seconds behind Wolff at the finish. “I knew he (Jorgenson) was fast tonight, so I’m glad I got a good lead,” said Wolff. Reuvers finished 3rd and #99 Brent Kane came across the finish line fourth.

Jorgenson now leads the standings by 15 points over #25 Eric Campbell in second and Reuvers is 18 points back in third.

Brandon Peterson #7 from Faribault (MN) continued his hot streak and won for the second time in the first Pepsi Power Stock Feature. Dan Streiff #1 led the race early after holding off #6 Joey Prusak at the start. Bryce Blohm #37 was involved in a wild wreck on lap 4 where he ended up coming down hard after riding his car up on two wheels at the end of the back stretch at Elko, amazingly enough he ended up salvaging a tenth place finish even after the wreck. Peterson then made his way to the lead at lap 6 and weaved through the lapped traffic to take home the win. Mike Stoer #08 finished 1.691 seconds behind for second, Matt Ryan #93 got third and Prusak finished fourth in the 17 car field.

Rookie driver Bryce Blohm from Lakeville (MN) was happy to start up front in the second Thunder Car main event. Blohm battled #56 Paul Hamilton for the first half of this 20 lap race before finally taking control of the top spot and taking home his 3rd trophy already in 2016. Tom Doten #62 made a furious charge late in the race, he passed a number of fast cars on the high side to take the second spot, only .713 seconds behind the leader. Taylor Goldman #8 finished 3rd and #93 Matt Ryan came home 4th.

Tom Doten now leads the Power Stock point standings, he is 9 points ahead of Bryce Blohm and 12 points ahead of Brandon Peterson.

Derek Lemke #71 from Shakopee (MN) won his 2nd Great North Legends feature of 2016. A big wreck on lap 4 caused damage to a handful of drivers including #13 Tim Brockhouse who tagged the wall in corner number four. Matt Allen #16, the winner from last week, led much of the 20 lap race until on the last lap he and #4 Brady Fox-Rhode had contact causing damage to both cars. Rhode was out immediately but the damage to Allens’ car was not fully realized until the final restart in which he fell back quite dramatically in the 19 car field. Lemke then took the lead and won by .959 seconds over #90 Travis Warling with #26 Will McCully finishing third and #40 Matt Ostdiek fourth.

With his second win of the season Lemke leads in the standings, he has a 22 point lead over Shon Jacobsen and Will McCully in the race for the Championship, Matt Allen drops to fourth.

Justin Schelitzche #14 from Lester Prairie (MN) won his second feature in a row during a hotly contested Hornets main event. He and Ashley Bell #41 battled side by side for nearly half the 15 lap race before Schelitzche edged out front. Bell finished 2nd with #55 Brandon Plekkenpol getting third, #36 Alex Vincent scoring a 4th place finish and #36b Brandon Olson finished fifth.

Brandon Olson still leads the point standings, but he now only has a 3 point lead over Schelitzche with Vincent 9 points back and Bell in fourth 19 point behind in the race for the Championship.

Luke Allen #3 from Chanhassen (MN) won his second consecutive Bandolero’s main event. He beat out #48 Lennon Watkins for the top spot. Allen now has a 18 point lead in the standings over Watkins. Both of those young drivers will attempt their first career start in the Great North Legends next weekend.

These results are unofficial, when the results become official they will be posted on the new Elko Racing app and at

Coming up next at Elko Speedway will be Eve of Destruction presented by the MN Lottery. In addition to the racing, Clay Gallager will have his stunt show, two Monster Trucks will duel, a massive Fireworks show will occur plus, Figure 8 bus races, spectator drags, petting zoo and much more. After the races Johnny Holm will perform a free concert and the Movie “Central Intelligence” will play at Elko Drive-in. Gates open at 5pm and action begins at 6pm Saturday July 2nd. Elko Speedway is located 30 minutes South of Downtown Minneapolis just off of I-35 and county road 2 in Elko (MN).

Get more information by Downloading our free ELKO RACING app, calling (952) 461-7223, following Elko Speedway on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram or by going to