By Jason D Searcy

July 12, 2018 – Elko, MN

The time has come for the return of the ARCA series presented by Menards to Elko Speedway. The Sioux Chief PowerPex 250 presented by CW Metals and MatrixCare is Saturday night July 14th. The title of the race is long, but that is a good thing because it means that numerous sponsors wanted to support this special event.

Since the MN State Fair ASA race ended on Monday September 2nd in 2002 many Minnesota race fans have been asking for a true National stock car event, a day where fans can see live pit stops and have it covered on live TV.

The fans had to wait nearly a decade but on June 2nd of 2012 the ARCA series made its debut in Minnesota at Elko Speedway. Looking back at the drivers list from that day is now very impressive six years later. The most recent NASCAR Cup series winner #20 Erik Jones finished 8th, the man who is now driving the #88 car in the Cup series Alex Bowman won the pole and finished 11th that day. Chris Beuscher, who is racing the #37 in the Cup series finished third and Brennan Poole was the winner.

The ARCA series returned in 2013 and fans were treated to witnessing the greatest ARCA series driver in history, Frank Kimmel win for the 78th time in his amazing career. Another motorsports legend, Ken Schrader won the pole and finish fifth.

In 2014 Grant Enfinger won the race and the pole was won by Justin Haley who is the talk of NASCAR this week after his bold move on the last lap to win the Xfinity Series race at Daytona in the #24 car, only to be penalized for advancing his position below the yellow line.

Last year ARCA returned to Elko Speedway and it was the most exciting finish fans have seen in years. Austin Theriault #52 beat Christian Eckes #15 by .029 seconds at the finish line and a huge wreck occurred right behind the leaders. Joe Gibbs developmental driver Riley Herbst #18 won the pole and finished third. Shane Lee, who is now racing the #3 car in the Xfinity Series for Richard Childress finished seventh and Dalton Sargeant is now racing full time in the Truck Series finished eighth. Many fans were happy to meet Bobby Dale Earnhardt, who is Dale Jr’s nephew, he finished the race in the nineteenth position.

Enough about the past, the ARCA race at Elko Speedway is this Saturday July 14th, don’t miss your opportunity to meet some of the future stock car superstars right here in your very own state.

Much hyped rising stars like Riley Herbst #18 who is driving for Joe Gibbs and just made his first Xfinity start, sixteen year old Chandler Smith #20 from Talking Rock (GA) who has four poles already, point leader #28 Sheldon Creed from Alpine (CA) is turning heads and many other top drivers too.

A much beloved racer who has spent many weekends at Elko Speedway #25 Natalie Decker from nearby Eagle River (WI) is entered, so too #77 Joe Graf Jr from Mahwah (NJ), he started his racing career ten years ago racing right here at Elko Speedway in the Bandolero division. Local favorite Willie Mullins #3 from Franklin (VA) is coming off a career best second place finish at Talladega and ASA fans have to cheer for Kevin Cywinski driver Gus Dean from Bluffton (SC) in the #32 car.

An added bonus, this year our local Hiway Federal Credit Union Late Model, Genz-Ryan Thunder Car and Pepsi Power Stock divisions will be racing feature events on the same night as well beginning at 6:30pm.

Don’t miss this rare opportunity to see Minnesota on a National stage, opening ceremony at 5pm, Qualifying, then ELKO division features, ARCA on-track autograph session at 7:15pm and then the 250 lapper for the ARCA series begins at 9pm. Get advanced tickets at Twin Cities area Menards Stores or go to for more details.

Elko Speedway is a 3/8th mile asphalt oval race track with stadium style seating located 30 minutes South of the Twin Cities just off of I-35 and County Road 2 in Elko-New Market (MN).