By Jason D Searcy

September 30, 2017 – Elko, MN

One of the largest crowds of the year enjoyed watching racing and wrecking on Saturday night as Leo’s South presented the final Eve of Destruction of 2017 at Elko Speedway.

Thirteen year old Tristan Swanson #91 of New Market (MN) swept the competition in the Eternity Homes Great North Legends features.  Swanson won both twenty lap features, in the first one he started sixth and the second one he started the race seventh.  

In the first feature #21 Hans Roeschli led the first few laps until Swanson took over the lead at lap five and won by .856 seconds, Robbie Carter #3 finished second, #26 Will McCully was third, Hans Roeschli was fourth and #47 Austin Jahr fifth.

In the second feature event fourteen year old Austin Jahr led a majority of the race until Tristan Swanson passed him with about six laps to go.  Jahr finished .474 seconds behind Swanson, Will McCully was third, #14 Devyn Stocker finished fourth and Robby Carter rounded out the TOP 5.

Derek Lemke #71 from Shakopee (MN) blew a motor in the first feature but still had enough points to win his fourth consecutive Great North Legends Championship.  Cole Klein #8 finished second in points, #75 Baiden Hesket was third, #14 Devyn Stocker fourth and #91 Tristan Swanson fifth in season ending points.

Jason Michaud #24 from Otsego (MN) won the first Pepsi Power Stock twenty lap main event.  Michaud started on the front row and took off for a big lead, the rest of the field never caught him as he won by 2.519 seconds.  Joe Prusak #66 finished second, #88 Nick Oxborough was third, #27 Darin Patnode fourth and #10 Dusty Mann fifth.  It was the first win of the year for Michaud.

Taylor Goldman #8 from Minnetonka (MN) won the second Power Stock feature.  She also took the lead early and never looked back, Goldman won by 1.791 seconds over Nick Oxborough, Darin Patnode was third, Joe Prusak fourth and Dusty Mann fifth.

Dusty Mann won the Power Stock points Championship for the second time at ELKO, he ended the season with eight Power Stock wins and finished 43 points ahead of #62 Tom Doten for the title.  Nick Oxborough finished third in points, Taylor Goldman fourth and #56 Paul Hamilton fifth.  Mann also won the Power Stock title in 2004.

The Hornets racing was exciting as usual at Elko Speedway.  Brandon Olson #36b won the first fifteen lap main event, he took the lead at lap four after #22 Shawn Grabinger led the first few laps.  Olson ended up winning by .916 seconds over #41 Ashley Bell with #14 Justin Schelitzche third, #13 Dan Knish fourth and Grabinger rounded out the TOP 5 finishers.

The second feature had #36v Alex Vincent taking the early lead as #36b Brandon Olson was caught up in an incident on lap two and went to the back of the pack.  That took the pressure off of point leader #3 Michael Wachs Jr who was protecting his points lead.  Vincent ended up winning his seventh feature of the year, Wachs Jr finished 1.044 seconds behind him in second, #41 Ashley Bell was third, #14 Justin Schelitzche fourth and #36b Brandon Olson fifth of the nine cars racing.

Michael Wachs Jr from Shakopee (MN) finished high enough to win his first ever points Championship at ELKO, he ended up 17 points ahead of Brandon Olson with Justin Schelitzche third, Alex Vincent fourth and #55 Brandon Plekkenpol fifth in points.

Colin Stocker #8 from Farmington (MN) won his seventh Brock’s Flooring Bandolero feature event of the year at Elko Speedway.  Stocker was followed to the finish line by #14 Kody King with #01 Zack Konop in third, #99 Max Mabee fourth and #64 Anna Price fifth.  Stocker won seven of the eight feature events raced this year at ELKO.  Stocker won the point title, Max Mabee was second, Christopher Konop third, Zack Konop fourth and Jessica Ziemiecki was fifth in points.

All results and points are unofficial at this time, any revisions will be posted at

The large Eve of Destruction crowd also enjoyed great destruction and entertainment from the Figure 8 Trailer Race, Burnout contest, School Bus Races and the Green Mamba Jet car featuring legendary driver Doug Rose.

In its 52nd year Elko Speedway wants to thank the drivers, crews, sponsors and fans for another successful season of racing at ELKO!

The Champions Banquet for Elko Speedway will be held on Saturday October 14th at Champions Bar located at Elko Speedway with music by Johnny Holm.

Elko Speedway is a NASCAR sanctioned 3/8th mile asphalt oval race track with stadium seating located 30 minutes South of Minneapolis just off of I-35 and County Road 2 in Elko (MN).  Follow Elko Speedway on social media, go to, download the ELKO racing app or call (952) 461-7223 for more information.