By Jason D Searcy

September 29, 2018 – Elko, MN

History was made during the final Eve of Destruction presented by T-Mobile of 2018 at Elko Speedway as Taylor Goldman #8 from Minnetonka (MN) was crowned the first ever female point Champion in the 53 year history of the track.

Goldman has raced at Elko Speedway since 2008 in the Pepsi Power Stock division, she has been consistent driver finishing in the “Top 5” in season ending points every year, even finishing a career best 2nd place in points in 2011 but, the title has always been beyond her grasp until this year.

Goldman held an impressive 93 point lead coming into the final night of racing essentially meaning she just had to avoid trouble, finish all the events and her points cushion would be enough to secure a first ever title.

Qualifying was won by #88 Nick Oxborough from Lakeville (MN), Michael Stoer #08 was second and #8 Taylor Goldman was third of the 15 cars entered. That result gave Goldman a 91 point advantage going into the final two features of the year.

The first 20 lap Power Stock feature was won by #33 Craig Wierson from Elko (MN), he lead the entire cautionless race flag to flag. It was the first win of the season for Wierson and he became the 13th different winner of the year in the Power Stock division. Michael Stoer #08 drove up from seventh to finish 2nd followed by #56 Paul Hamilton, #66 Joe Prusak, #88 Nick Oxborough and #27 Darin Patnode. Taylor Goldman did what she needed to do, stayed out of trouble and finished 7th, that result locked her in with a 74 point lead going into the final event and clinching the title.

The second Power Stock feature had #7 Ryan Barbaro lead the early laps until #41 Jason Michaud grabbed the top spot on lap 8. A caution period at lap 10 bunched up the field and had #88 Nick Oxborough and Jason Michaud battling for the top spot, Michaud retook the lead on lap 14 when another caution happened with four laps remaining. Jason Michaud again took the lead as the top three separated themselves from the pack. Michaud protected the bottom groove and held on for his third win of the season, Michael Stoer #08 drove the high side for second followed by Taylor Goldman in the #8 car, #83 Julie Jorgenson was fourth and #56 Paul Hamilton fifth.

Taylor Goldman then celebrated the Championship with an epic burnout and delighted the huge Eve of Destruction crowd at Elko Speedway. Goldman ended the season with four wins and won the title by 68 points over Michael Stoer with Nick Oxborough 114 points back in third place, Paul Hamilton #56 was fourth and #41 Jason Michaud fifth. Official points and results will be posted midweek at

The Eternity Homes Great North Legends point title was wrapped up before the evening even began as #75 Baiden Heskett originally from Texas and now living in Savage (MN) clinched the Championship last weekend. The first 20 lap feature had #2 Robby Thurston lead the first couple laps and then #47 Austin Jahr took over the top spot on lap three. Baiden Heskett grabbed the lead on lap four and then a car had an oil lead and covered the entire race surface with a fine layer of slickness causing a lengthy delay for cleanup. When the race resumed Heskett set sail and won by .819 seconds over Austin Jahr, it was his 11th feature race win of the year at Elko Speedway. Tristan Swanson #91 finished third followed by #13 Tim Brockhouse and #03 Robby Carter fifth of the 15 cars entered.

The second feature had #21 Hans Roeschli take the early lead until fourteen year old #91 Tristan Swanson grabbed the top spot on lap six and then he held off #75 Baiden Heskett to win by .253 seconds, it was the third win of the season for Swanson. Austin Jahr finished third, #03 Robby Carter fourth and Roeschli was fifth.

It is the first points Championship at Elko Speedway for Baiden Heskett who is also the overall point leader in the National INEX standings in the Pro Asphalt division. Heskett won 11 features and six other drivers combined to win the other 13 features raced in the Great North Legends division at Elko Speedway.

The Brocks’ Flooring Bandolero division ran double features at Elko Speedway. The first feature had Clayton Dorner #56 lead early then #13 Ayrton Brockhouse took the top spot, Brockhouse was on his way to his first career win when he spun in corner two on the last lap opening the door for #8 Colin Stocker from Farmington (MN) to win his first feature event of the year. Kody King #14 was second, #99 Max Mabee third, #901 Alex Hartwig fourth and #88 Zach Konop fifth of the fourteen cars entered.

The second feature had Colin Stocker start the race with a 14 point advantage over Max Mabee for the point title. Alex Hartwig #901 from Portage (WI) took the early lead and led every lap of the race. Colin Stocker was fighting for position near the front of the pack when he spun with two laps to go in the race and had to go to the back of the pack putting his point lead in doubt with Max Mabee running in third position. On the restart, Stocker was able to pass a couple cars and finished in 9th and Mabee was not able to pass any more cars, he finished third. Stocker won the point Championship by only 3 points, it was his second consecutive Bandolero title at Elko Speedway. Stocker announced that he will be moving up to the Great North Legends division next year. Mabee finished second in points followed by Kody King, Teddy Kottschade and Adam Ratliff. Official results and standings will be posted at midweek.

Eve of Destruction fans were treated to some great action on the track as Derek Seaver from Lonsdale (MN) won the Spectator Drags in a 2009 Chevy Cobalt SS and Jacob Dorn from Prior Lake (MN) won the Burnout Contest in a 1974 Chevy diesel pickup.

The Figure 8 Trailer race was wild and crazy as ever and the figure 8 school bus race was entertaining as well.

The evening ended with 85 year old Fred Sibley from Elkhart (IN) driving the “Little Red Beer Hauler” Jet vehicle and melting a car down to its frame and a wonderful display of Fireworks lighting up the sky.

Coming up next at ELKO will be the Bandit Big Rig series on Saturday, Oct 13th, spectator gates open at 11am and green flag at 3pm.

Elko Speedway is a NASCAR sanctioned 3/8th-mile asphalt oval racetrack with stadium seating located 30 minutes South of the Twin Cities in Elko-New Market (MN). Get more information at, download our free app or follow Elko Speedway on social media.