By Jason D Searcy

August 11, 2018 – Elko, MN

A big crowd witnessed a night of wrecking and NASCAR Whelen All American series racing at Elko Speedway with Eve of Destruction on Saturday night.

The first 30 lap Hiway Federal Credit Union Late Model feature had sixteen cars entered, #50 Steve Anderson led the early laps until #21 Adam Bendzick from Elko (MN) took over the top spot on lap four. Joe Neisius #75 then challenged for the lead with ten laps remaining in the race, he and Bendzick swapped the lead numerous times until Neisius spun into the infield coming to the white flag. Bendzick won by .476 seconds over #7 Paul Paine with #14 Devyn Stocker just edging out fast qualifier #12 Nick Murgic for third and #72 Jacob Goede rounded out the Top 5. It was the second win of the season for Adam Bendzick.

The second Late Model feature had #52 Chad Walen lead the early laps until #17 Jon Lemke from Savage (MN) passed him on lap five of 30. Owin Giles #6 was up front with the leaders but then had to pit for a fuel cap problem moving him to the back of the sixteen car field. On lap 10 the veteran drivers Lemke and #72 Jacob Goede went side by side for the lead and they stayed that way for the next 20 consecutive laps, just inches apart but never making contact. It came down to the last lap and Lemke just edged Goede by .100 seconds at the finish line, it was the second win of the season for Jon Lemke. Paul Paine #7 finished third, Nick Murgic #12 came from his last starting position to finish fourth and #21 Adam Bendzick was fifth.

The unofficial standings now have Jacob Goede leading Owin Giles by 158 points, Chris Marek #3 is 194 points behind in third and Chad Walen is 195 points behind in fourth.
The first 20 lap Pepsi Power Stock feature had the front row remain constant for much of the race, it was defending Champion #62 Tom Doten and #56 Paul Hamilton from Hastings (MN) racing side by side for the lead. Finally with about six laps to go #6 Joey Prusak drove down low and got by Doten but he didn’t quite have enough for Hamilton who won by .209 seconds at the finish line, it was his third win of the year. Nick Oxborough #88 was third, Tom Doten dropped to fourth and point leader #8 Taylor Goldman finished fifth.

The second Power Stock 20 lap feature had veteran driver #66 Joe Prusak take the early lead but he was being challenged by fast qualifier #08 Michael Stoer from Prior Lake (MN). The thirteen car field was reset when a caution came out with five laps to go. Prusak took a slight advantage off the restart but Michael Stoer passed him on the high side with two laps to go in the race, Stoer then held back Joe Prusak to win by .469 seconds, it was his first win of the year at ELKO. Jason Michaud #41 was third, #8 Taylor Goldman fourth and #88 Nick Oxborough was fifth of the thirteen cars entered.

The unofficial standings now have Taylor Goldman leading by 95 points over Jason Michaud with Nick Oxborough 100 points behind in third and Michael Stoer 107 points behind in fourth.

The first 20 lap Eternity Homes Great North Legends feature had #33 Luke Allen leading the first few laps until fourteen year old #12 Sammy Smith from Johnston (IA) took the lead. Smith held on for the win but it wasn’t easy, he was challenged numerous times by point leader #75 Baiden Heskett, they even rubbed tires one lap and that makes for problems with these open wheeled vehicles. The front end of the Hesket car was sucked up onto the rear quarter panel of the Smith car causing body damage but both cars continued to the finish. Smith won by .598 seconds at the finish line, it was the second win of the season at ELKO for Sammy Smith. Heskett was second, #47 Austin Jahr finished third, Luke Allen was fourth and his brother #16 Matt Allen was fifth of the fourteen cars entered.

Cole Klein #8 was the early leader of the second 20 lap Great North Legends feature. There was a caution on lap two resetting the field, on lap five fast qualifier #03 Robby Carter took the lead, he held the top spot until #75 Baiden Heskett passed him with three laps to go. Baiden Heskett won by .303 seconds with Robby Carter finishing second, #12 Sammy Smith third, Cole Klein fourth and #47 Austin Jahr fifth of the 15 cars entered. It was the eighth win of the season at ELKO for Heskett.

The unofficial standings now have Baiden Heskett leading Robby Carter by 166 points and Matt Allen 197 points behind in third.

Official results and point standings will be posted midweek on

The huge Eve of Destruction crowd was thrilled by the Steel Wall Bus crash and two other stunts performed by the Wildman Clay Gallagher.

For the first time ever at ELKO, the drifters did a competition-style show with Austin Matta from Shakopee (MN) taking home win in an awesome display of technique and skill.

The Spectator drags were won by Mark Chlan from Lonsdale (MN).

The School Bus races were a great finale of the action at Elko Speedway with the Mallrats playing music in Champions bar after the races concluded.

Up next at Elko Speedway will be our traditional Tribute Night at the track with special memorial races in the Late Model and Thunder Car divisions plus, everyone is invited to wear your favorite throwback clothing for the event. Gates open at 5pm and action begins at 6pm Saturday August 18th. Get more information at or follow Elko Speedway on most forms of Social Media.

Elko Speedway is a 3/8th mile NASCAR Sanctioned asphalt oval race track with stadium seating located 30 minutes South of the Twin Cities just off of I-35 and County Road 2 in Elko-New Market (MN).