By Jason D Searcy

July 29, 2017 – Elko, MN

The impressive list of drivers who have won in the Hiway Federal Credit Union Late Model division got even longer on Saturday night at Elko Speedway.  Eleven different drivers have now won this year in the NASCAR Whelen All American series Premiere division at ELKO as the names of Michael Ostdiek of Lakeville (MN) and Michael Beamish from Eagan (MN) were added to the docket during Eve of Destruction presented by MN Professional Towing Association.

Jon Lemke #17 led the first half of the first Late Model 30 lap feature, #14 Grant Brown battled with Lemke and the two touched coming out of the corner more than once as they raced side by side and slowing down enough to be caught from behind. Michael Beamish #40 took advantage of the situation, “It allowed me to cool the tires down, the car came back to life and it was really good after that,” said Beamish who dove to the inside and went from third to first in an instant with just three laps remaining.  Beamish won by .614 seconds, #72 Jacob Goede drove from his eighth starting spot to second, #54 Dylan Moore went from tenth to third, Jon Lemke dropped to fourth and Grant Brown finished fifth in the strong 18 car field.

In the second Hiway Federal Credit Union Late Model feature #99 Jeff Partington shot out to a big lead early, #18 of Michael Ostdiek slowly made his way up to second by lap 8, he battled for the lead on lap 20 and two laps later he took the top spot and never gave it up even though #6 Owin Giles made it a close finish.  “I knew if I stayed patient I would be alright,” said Ostdiek “I was hungry for the first win.”  This is the home track for Ostdiek who is traveling much of the year as part of the Kulwicki Driver Development Program and racing in the Big 8 series and the ARCA Midwest tour.  Fifteen year old Owin Giles drove up from eighth to finish second, just .436 seconds behind Ostdiek, #52 Chad Walen finished third, Jeff Partington dropped to fourth and #14 Grant Brown rounded out the TOP 5 at Elko Speedway.

Jacob Goede retains the point lead, he is 75 points ahead of Grant Brown in the race for the Championship.

Seventeen cars raced in the first Genz-Ryan Thunder Car feature, #75 Keith Paulsrud took the early lead until he was passed by #28 Mike Homan from South St Paul (MN) on lap eight, Homan was challenged by #8 Ted Reuvers numerous times but he would not be denied his first win.  Homan won by only .279 seconds with Reuvers finishing second, defending Champion #32 Jeremy Wolff third, #37 Bryce Blohm fourth and #3 Conrad Jorgenson fifth.  Point leader #10 Dusty Mann had a mechanical problem before the race, he started last and moved up to 8th at the finish.

In the second 20 lap feature for the Thunder Cars #99 Brent Kane grabbed the lead early, he was overtaken on the high-side by #3 Conrad Jorgenson from Lakeville (MN) on lap 3, Jorgenson then extended his lead to 3.31 seconds at the checkered flag.  The great battle on the track was for the runner-up position, Brent Kane just edged #32 Jeremy Wolff by .054 seconds, #10 Dustin Mann finished fourth and #8 Ted Reuvers rounded out the TOP 5.  It was the fifth win of the year for Jorgenson.

Jeremy Wolff continued to lead the Thunder Car point standings, he now has a 37 point lead over Conrad Jorgenson in the run for his second straight title.

Matt Ryan #93 led the Pepsi Power Stock 20 lap main event on Saturday night at ELKO, he dropped out with mechanical problems shortly after #10 Dusty Mann from Farmington (MN) took the lead on lap 5.  Dusty then cruised away for his fifth win of the year in the Power Stock division.  There was close competition for the runner-up position as #8 Taylor Goldman just edged #54 Paul Hamilton by only .045 seconds at the finish line.  Then two veteran racers as #66 Joe Prusak finished fourth and #62 Tom Doten crossed the line fifth of the 17 cars racing.

Dusty Mann is the point leader in the Power Stock division, he has a 35 point lead on defending Champion Tom Doten in the standings.

The Hornets 15 lap main event was exciting, #14 Justin Schelitzche from Lester Prairie (MN) won his first feature of the year at ELKO after passing #0 Brian Adams on lap four.  Schelitzche won by a big margin but the race continued on behind him, Adams was able to hold onto the second position, #55 Brandon Plekkenpol finished third, #36 Brandon Olson was fourth and #7 Ridge Oien finished fifth of the 14 cars entered.  Eight different drivers have now won a feature event in the front wheel drive Hornets division this year at Elko Speedway.

Justin Schelitzche now has an 11 point lead over Brandon Plekkenpol as he attempts to defend the Hornets Championship.

Official results and point standings will be posted mid-week at

The large crowd for Eve of Destruction was also entertained by Tina Winn from Sarasota (FL) known as Galaxy Girl as she did aerial stunts 127 feet above the ground.  The Drifters and Freestyle Motocross athletes amazed the crowd and the Figure 8 Bus Races ended with a big crash and rollover.  Winners were also crowned in the spectator and outlaw drag races at ELKO.

Coming up next at Elko Speedway is Kids Night, with free admission for kids (12 and under) plus school bus rides around the track BEFORE the races begin.  Gates open at 5pm and action begins at 6pm.  Get more information at, follow Elko Speedway on social media, download our free app by searching Elko Racing or call (952) 461-7223.  The kid friendly movie at Elko Drive-in theater will be Captain Underpants.

Elko Speedway is Minnesota’s only NASCAR sanctioned race track.  ELKO is a 3/8th mile asphalt oval track located 30 minutes South of both Minneapolis or St Paul just off of I-35 and county road 2 in Elko (MN).