May 19, 2018 – Elko, MN

By Jason D Searcy

Despite the cold and wind the sights and sounds of NASCAR Whelen All American Series racing began on Saturday night for the 53rd season at Elko Speedway.

The Hiway Federal Credit Union Late Models put on quite a show with #13 Bryan Wrolstad from Northfield (MN) winning the first of two 30 lap main events. Wrolstad took the lead from #31 Ryan Varner on lap 15, he then had to hold off #21 Adam Bendzick and #72 Jacob Goede for the win. It was the second career Late Model win for Wrolstad.

The second feature was won by four-time returning Champion #72 Jacob Goede from Carver (MN), #52 Chad Walen led a majority of the race and had a great battle with both Goede and #7 Paul Paine at different points as cars raced side by side three wide. Goede took the lead with eight laps remaining and took home the victory, Walen finished second and veteran driver #50 Steve Anderson was third.

The Genz-Ryan Thunder Car division started out on the wrong foot during practice as the #7 Brandon Petersen car blew a motor and oiled down the track resulting in the #10 car of Dusty Mann and #09 Matt Wiebusch to hit the wall and cause major damage to both cars. The defending Champion #3 Conrad Jorgenson also had motor problems during practice and had to retire his primary car before the races even began.

The first 20 lap feature event was won by #25 Eric Campbell from Lonsdale (MN), #14 Tony Holm and #9 Adam Wiebusch led laps during the first half of the race until Campbell took over. The attrition continued as 2016 Champion #32 Jeremy Wolff had motor problems and dropped out of the race. Eric Campbell won with #37 Bryce Blohm finishing second and #07 Dillon Sellner rounding out the Top 3.

The second feature winner was #07 Dillon Sellner from Farmington (MN), he assumed the lead after a lap 7 incident in which #3 Conrad Jorgenson, #14 Tony Holm and #9 Adam Wiebusch all went from the front to the tail of the field. Wiebusch fought his way back up to second place and #25 Eric Campbell finished third and #37 Bryce Blohm fourth. Jeremy Wolff borrowed the car normally driven by Norm Grabinger and he finished the race fifth place.

The Pepsi Power Stock features were excitement from beginning to end with 18 cars entered. Taylor Goldman #8 from Minnetonka (MN) won the first feature, she was in a great side-by-side battle with #66 Joe Prusak until on the last lap Prusak blew a Transmission line and dropped out. Jason Michaud #41 charged up through the field to finish second and 2014 Champion #88 Nick Oxborough rounded out the Top 3.

The second feature was won by #66 Joe Prusak from Clayton (WI), this time he held on to lead every lap, but it was anything but easy as drivers took turns racing three-wide and battling Prusak for the lead. It was career win number 190 for Joe Prusak who has raced a long time at many different tracks “you can’t get a better facility than this and people are great, ELKO is the place to be, I think” said Prusak after the race. Michael Stoer #08 drove a great race to finish second and #8 Taylor Goldman crossed the line third in that thrilling event.

The Eternity Homes Great North Legends races were both won by #75 Baiden Heskett who is from Fort Worth (TX) and has now moved up to Minnesota. Sixteen Legends cars were entered for the events at Elko Speedway.

Hans Roscheli #21 from New Prague (MN) led laps early in the first feature event until Heskett took over the lead at the halfway point. Heskett won with #16 Matt Allen moving up to finish second and Roscheli crossing the finish line third.

The second feature saw #90 Travis Warling and #91 Tristan Swanson lead the early laps until Heskett took over and sweep the feature events. Robbie Carter #03 finished a strong second place and #91 Tristan Swanson finished third on his fourteenth birthday night.

A very strong field of 15 Brock’s Flooring Bandoleros raced at Elko Speedway for the season opener. It was #14 Kody King from Forest City (IA) winning the fifteen lap main event, it was his second ever win at ELKO. King and defending Champion #8 Colin Stocker had some contact earlier in the race battling for the top spot, Stocker dropped back and finished seventh. King then had to hold off newcomer #07 Teddy Kottschade for the trophy as #901 Alex Hartwig finished third.

Official results will be posted midweek at

Coming up next at Elko Speedway will be an Eve of Destruction event on Saturday May 26th featuring NASCAR racing in the Late Models, Thunder Cars and Power Stocks plus Monster Trucks, Lumberjacks, School Bus Races, Freestyle Motocross Stunts, music by the Devon Worley Band and much more. Gates open at 5pm, action begins at 6pm. Get more information at, follow Elko Speedway on social media or download our free app by searching for Elko Racing.

Elko Speedway is a NASCAR sanctioned 3/8th mile banked oval asphalt race track located 30 minutes South of the Twin Cities in Elko-New Market MN.