Tasseldega Nights Race Recap

June 7, 2014 – Elko, MN

By Jason D Searcy

Steve Anderson from Lakeville (MN) returned to Victory Lane in the Minnesota Corn Growers Super Late Model division at Elko Speedway on Saturday night after taking a year off to heal a torn Rotator cuff. He started the race from the inside of the third row and slowly made his way to the front during this 40 lap race, he avoided wrecks and then held off Mark Lamoreaux from Bloomington (MN) by .558 seconds to win the race. “Mark has been around even longer than me,” said Anderson “it’s fun racing with him, he is a good racer.”

Paul Paine from Mound (MN) finished in the 10th position but is still the point leader by 10 points over Mark Lamoreaux in the NASCAR Whelen All American series standings.

Even though it rained part of the afternoon in the Twin Cities area a huge crowd was in attendance for Tasseldega Nights at Elko Speedway presented by the Minnesota Corn Growers.

Nick Beaver from Rosemount (MN) started way back in the pack in the 17 car Big 8 main event and somehow took the checkered flag first . Nick was in fourth place with one lap to go, “I was going to be highly satisfied with fourth place after starting 14th, but going through three and four the guys in front of me were starting to get a little loose,” said Beaver “then they all three got in a wreck and I thought I can find a gap and get through it, it played out perfect.” The crowd rose to its feet in unison as the top 3 cars were all spinning down the front stretch, it looked like a scene out of a Hollywood movie with Nick Beaver getting the starring role.

Chris Marek from Lakeville (MN) is still leading the BIG 8 point standings with Cole Anderson from Northfield (MN) 9 points behind him.

Brent Kane from Lonsdale (MN) won his second Genz-Ryan 25 lap Thunder Car main event of the year and captured the point lead at the same time. Kane was the first of 20 cars to the finish line, he won by .991 seconds over Dusty Mann from Farmington (MN). Kane leads Conrad Jorgenson from Lakeville (MN) by just one point in the point standings.

Nick Oxborough from Savage (MN) won the Pepsi Power Stock main event on his 23rd birthday. He started 9th in the 16 car field and beat Grant Brown from Prior Lake (MN) by just .127 seconds at the stripe. Oxborough also leads 14 yr old Brown by five points in the point standings.

Tim Brockhouse from Webster (MN) won the Great North Legends 20 lap main event at the Midwest Center for Speed. Brockhouse held off two time winner Tyler Sjoman from Alexandria (MN) by only .133 seconds in this 19 car field for the win. Shon Jacobsen from East Bethel (MN) leads Derek Lemke from Shakopee (MN) by 14 points in the Championship point standings.

Justin Schelitzche from Lester (MN) won the 15 lap Mini Stock feature. He held off the hard charges of Tyler Christensen of Bloomington (MN) for the win by only .375 seconds. Michael Wachs Jr from Shakopee (MN) leads the standings by 3 points over Brian Adams for the Championship.

Cole Klein from Rogers (MN) won his second Bandoleros feature race of 2014 by edging Owen Giles from New Market (MN). Klein is now tied with Brody Wulf from Lakeville (MN) for the point lead with 202 points each.

For full results go to www.ElkoSpeedway.com and click RESULTS.

Next up for family fun entertainment at Elko Speedway is the NASCAR Whelen All American series racing in 7 divisions on Saturday night June 14th, time trials begin at 6 and racing at 7pm. After the races enjoy a free concert with 70’s rock band Head East in Champions event center.

To get more information go to www.ElkoSpeedway.com or call (952) 461-Race. Follow Elko Speedway on Facebook, Twitter or YouTube for promotional and informational updates daily.

Comments are closed.