Sept. 7th 2013 Eve Of Destruction Results

September 7, 2013 – Elko, MN

Bryan Syer-Keske from Lakeville (MN) won both his first and second career NASCAR Whelen All American series Super Late Model races during the Eve of Destruction RAW night at Elko Speedway.

Bryan is a teenager and former Great North Legends champion at Elko Speedway who recently moved up to race Super Late Models. “We’ve been working on this for about a year now and we finally got it done” said Keske.

Keske held a sizeable lead midway through both the features, but he had to fight hard to hold onto the lead in each of his wins. “I was freaking out a little bit with about ten laps to go in the first one, but by the second feature I felt like I’ve done this before” said Keske.

Bryan Roach slipped ahead of Keske during a dramatic restart with only one lap to go in the first 30 lap feature, but the win was later awarded to Keske due to a tech violation.

Point leader Adam Royle had another strong performance, he finished third in the first Super Late Model feature and runner up in the second feature event.

Kyle Kirberger from Ramsey (MN) won the first BIG 8 feature during Eve of Destruction. “We got out front and kind of pulled away from the field,” said Kirberger “(Chris) Marek was catching me at the end, but we held on for the win.”

This was the first win for Kyle in his rookie season in the BIG 8 division, “it’s really fun to run with these guys,” said Kirberger “every week anyone can win, it’s a competitive class.”

Travis Stanley from Prior Lake (MN) won for the fourth time this year in the second BIG 8 feature event during Eve of Destruction. Dylan Moore finished second to Stanley by just .224 seconds. Chris Marek now has a 23 point lead over Dylan Moore in the standings going into the final point night.

Conrad Jorgenson from Lakeville (MN) won his third Thunder Car race of the year by beating point leader Brent Kane by only .162 seconds in feature number two.

Kane from Lonsdale (MN) won his seventh feature at Elko Speedway in the first race. With his second place finish in the other feature he extended the point lead to 53 over Ted Reuvers who finished third in both feature events.

John Lebens from Shakopee (MN) had a clean sweep in the Power Stock division races and retook the point lead. Lebens won both his heat race and the feature. Tom Doten edged Taylor Goldman for the runner up position in the 20 lap main event.

Lebens goes into Elko Speedway Championship night looking to defend his 2012 point title in the Power Stocks. Lebens leads Doten by only 2 points and Taylor Goldman is just 4 points out of first place.

Derek Lemke from Shakopee (MN) won for the second time of the year in the Great North Legends main event, he was victorious in the 20 lap feature by .789 seconds over James Wenzel.

Point leader Michael Ostdiek had mechanical problems and finished 17th, Ostdiek still leads in the point standings by 44 points over Lemke.

Jack Purcell from Bloomington (MN) was declared the winner in the Mini Stock main event. Aaron Hopkins crossed the finish line first in this wild 18 car race but was disqualified in the tech shed giving the win to second place finisher Purcell. Purcell now leads John Vandenheuvel by 8 points in the standings.

The Flag pole races were won by David Robinson in the Power Stock division and Michael Wachs Jr in the Mini Stock division.

Next up at Elko Speedway is Championship night Saturday September 14th crowning 2013 Champions in the Super Late Models, BIG 8, Thunder Car and Power Stock divisions, also racing for points will be Bandoleros and Great North Legends. The Fur-Ever wild wolf exhibit and the MN Fords will be on display as well.

Gates open at 5 pm with racing beginning at 7pm. Follow Elko Speedway on Facebook, Twitter and YouTube for video and promotional announcements. Get more information by calling (952) 461-7223 or go to www.elkospeedway.com

Comments are closed.

Warning: Undefined variable $aria_req in /var/www/html/wp-content/themes/elkospeedway/comments.php on line 80

Warning: Undefined variable $aria_req in /var/www/html/wp-content/themes/elkospeedway/comments.php on line 82