June 29th, 2024 - Elko, MN

By Jason D Searcy



An impressively large crowd celebrated an early Independence Day holiday at Elko Speedway on Saturday night during Eve of Destruction.

The first Interim HealthCare Staffing 25 lap Late Model feature event had 18 cars take the green flag and it was veteran driver #19 Jake Ryan from Elko (MN) who captured the lead off the start he held on through a caution period and was never passed during the 25-lap race. Ryan won the race by an impressive 3.727 seconds; it was his second win of the season at ELKO. Grant Brown #14, who was the Elko Speedway Power Stock Champion back in 2015, took a break from following the Big 8 tour and had a great run, he moved up from the 6th starting position to finish runner up in the race. 9-time ELKO Champion Donny Reuvers #41 finished third. Chad Walen #52 picked up a \$1,000 bonus from Interim HealthCare Staffing for being the fast qualifier with a lap time of 14.452, he finished in the fourth position and Ryan Varner #31 rounded out the Top 5.



The second NASCAR sanctioned Late Model feature had former Legends Champion #18 Michael Ostdiek from Lakeville (MN) lead every lap and take home the win during a caution less race, Ostdiek won by 1.32 seconds, it was his first win of the season at ELKO. 2023 ASA Midwest tour Rookie of the Year #81 Bryan Syer-Keske finished second, #31 Ryan Varner scored a hard-fought podium finish in third, Donny Reuvers was fourth and Chad Walen was fifth of the 17 cars who started the race.



The NASCAR sanctioned Thunder Car division had 12 cars during their two 20 lap feature events. Brent Kane #99 from Lonsdale (MN) won both races for the clean sweep of the night. In the first race Kane took over the lead on lap two after #83 Julie Jorgenson led the first lap. There was only one yellow flag slowing the action during the race and Kane won by 0.971 seconds. Jorgenson finished second, #29 Tommy Sorem was third, #41 Ben Gannon fourth and #9 Adam Wiebusch rounded out the Top 5.



The second Thunder Car event had Adam Wiebusch lead most of the race but immediately following a restart on lap 12 Brent Kane worked his way up from the 8th starting position and took the lead on the high side. Wiebusch fought hard but came up 0.673 seconds short in second place. Tom Sorem finished third, Taylor Goldman #8 was fourth and Ben Gannon finished fifth of the 12 cars competing.



"That was the best car I've ever had in my whole life," said Brent Kane after the event and that is a strong statement considering this is the 25th year of racing and Saturday was victory number 131 and 132 in his impressive career. Kane has now won 3 of the first 4 races of the season in the Thunder Car division at ELKO.

The NASCAR sanctioned Power Stock division raced two 20 lap feature events. The first race had #3 Jimmie Jorgenson lead a majority of the race, but he was tailed tightly by #57 Jesse Fischer from Eagan (MN). Fischer got alongside Jorgenson a couple times early in the race and then took advantage when Jorgenson slowed because of lapped traffic on lap 12. Fischer grabbed the lead and then won by 0.547 seconds; it was the second win of the season for Fischer. Tom Doten #62 finished second place, #83 Julie Jorgenson finished third, Jimmie Jorgenson dropped to fourth and #08 Mike Stoer was fifth of the 15 cars entered in the race.



The second Power Stock race had #77 Payton King lead the first lap before being overtaken by #3 Jimmie Jorgenson from Elko-New Market (MN) who raced up from his 7th starting spot to take the lead on lap 2. "The car was the fastest it has ever been so I knew if I got in the right positions and the cards fell my way I could take it home," said Jorgenson who held off his younger sister to win for the first time this year at

ELKO. Julie Jorgenson moved up from her 8th place starting position but finished 0.941 seconds behind her brother to get second place, #08 Mike Stoer was third, Jesse Fischer was fourth and Payton King finished 5th.



The motorcycle powered INEX sanctioned Legends division raced two 20 lap features on Saturday night at Elko Speedway. The races were hotly contested with a lot of three-wide racing, but both were won by 14 year old Ayrton Brockhouse #12 from Shakopee (MN).

The first race had #13 Casey Traxler leading early until #13 Ayden Brockhouse took the lead on lap four. Fast-timer #87 Ryan Johnson moved up from his 10th starting position to take the point on lap 8 until Ayrton Brockhouse grabbed the lead on lap 13. Ayrton Brockhouse was able to hold back the many challenges of Johnson and won by 0.351 seconds. 2007 ELKO Legends Champion Ryan Johnson finished second place, 2018 ELKO Legends Champion #75 Baiden Heskett was third, Ayden Brockhouse finished fourth and #3 Luke Allen was fifth of the 20 cars entered.



The second 20 lap event had #8 Mark Anderson Jr leading early until Luke Allen took over the top spot-on lap 3, then Baiden Heskett jumped to the front on lap 5, he was the leader until 8th place starting Ayrton Brockhouse slipped into the lead on lap 7. Brockhouse was able to fight back the pack and endured a big wreck where multiple cars crashed on lap 13. Brockhouse ended up winning the race to the line by 0.978 seconds making it a clean sweep of features on the night and his second win of the season at ELKO. Ryan Johnson finished runner-up for the second time on the night, Baiden Heskett was third, Casey Traxler fourth and Luke Allen finished fifth. Ayden Brockhouse was sixth. With an example of extremes, the oldest competitor 69-year-old Greg Erhardt #31 finished 7th and the youngest, 12-year-old Cam Panitzke #22 was 8th on his first ever weekend of racing at ELKO.

The INEX sanctioned Bandoleros division raced two 12 lap feature events during Eve of Destruction at Elko Speedway.

The first race had #32 Colton Roe Pershall lead most of the race, he endured three caution periods and held on until just two laps before the finish when #5 Christopher Flynn from Farmington (MN) took over the top spot and then won by 1.202 seconds, it was the first career win for Flynn at ELKO. Roe Pershall finished second, #8 Thomas Poretsky was third, #56 George Brochman fourth and #75 Logen Carter fifth of the 11 cars competing.



The second Bando race had #32w Mason Westphal leading early in the race until Colton Roe Pershall passed him for the lead on lap 5 but at the same time he lost the rear body panel off the car, it caused a yellow flag and Roe Pershall had to resume the race at the back of the pack. On the restart Christopher Flynn took the lead and crossed the finish line in first place but his car was penalized with a disqualification in post-race technical inspection. Colton Roe Pershall #32 from Sartell (MN) was awarded the win, it was his first win of the season at ELKO. Mason Westphal finished second, Thomas Poretski was third, George Brochman fourth and #99 Jamie Dougherty was fifth.

The Iconic Bigfoot Monster truck with Josh Baumgartner driving entertained the huge ELKO crowd by crushing cars and Kayla Erickson made her debut in the Monster Truck named The Boss.



The ATV Big Air tour and Mega Jump BMX thrilled the crowd with some of the top Action sports athletes in the North.



Sam Buckner from Bloomington won the Spectator Drags with his 1987 Chevrolet Corvette.

The School Bus races, and spectacular fireworks show ended the race night with a bang.

Next Saturday night July 6th the Elko Speedway Independence Day Spectacular continues with racing in all five divisions plus two monster trucks, drifters, bus races, spectator drags, MAW wrestling, a Jet truck melt down and fireworks finale. Gates open at 4:30pm, action begins at 5:15pm.

Elko Speedway is a NASCAR sanctioned 3/8th mile asphalt race track with stadium seating located just 30 minutes South of the Twin Cities in Elko-New Market (MN).

Get more information at ElkoSpeedway.com