May 17th 2014, NASCAR Recap

Elko MN – May 17, 2014

Jason D. Searcy

The accomplishments of youthful drivers in motorsports is celebrated and well documented, but on this Saturday night at Elko Speedway youth was not served in the NASCAR Whelen All American series Super Late Model division presented by Mobil 1.

Mark Lamoreaux from Bloomington (MN) bested 18 cars and won the 40 lap Minnesota Corn Growers main event by just .095 over Paul Paine from Mound (MN). Lamoreaux was the Point Champion at Elko Speedway in 1976 and he had not won a race at the Midwest Center for Speed in quite some time, “I’m more than a veteran,” said Lamoreaux “I think it was the mid 1980’s since my last win here, we’ve won a lot of features, but it’s been a long time.”

Ted Reuvers from Dundas (MN) started third and won the 25 lap Genz-Ryan Thunder Car main event, he held off a fast charging Conrad Jorgenson from Lakeville (MN) by 1.281 seconds. In this 20 car field Jorgenson charged from his 12th starting position up to second place in this cautionless race.

2013 Champion Chris Marek from Lakeville (MN) picked up right where he left off with a win in the BIG 8 division. 16 yr old Cole Anderson from Northfield (MN) drove up from his 7th starting position to finish runner up in this highly competitive 17 car field.

The Great North Legends 20 lap main event was won by Tyler Sjoman from Alexandria (MN) who started 12th in the 20 car feature race. Shon Jacobsen from East Bethel (MN) scored a second place finish .0845 seconds behind Sjoman. The race was marred by a huge wreck involving three top racers on lap 6: Todd Tracy, Tim Brockhouse and Dylan Warner all sustained heavy damage and did not finish, Warner’s car barrel rolled down the backstretch numerous times but all three drivers emerged OK.

Nick Oxborough from Savage (MN) won an incredibly entertaining Pepsi Power Stock main event. Paul Hamilton from Hastings (MN) lead until the last lap of the race, Oxborough edged Hamilton by just .078 seconds at the finish line as the crowd rose to its feet. The race ran the entire 20 laps without a caution even though cars seemed sideways at every corner of the track throughout.

Michael Wachs Jr from Shakopee (MN) started 8th on the grid and won the Mini Stock feature event, he finished just ahead of Justin Schelitzche from Lester (MN) who started 10th in this 16 car field. The Mini Stocks have been added to the weekly race schedule at Elko Speedway for the entire 2014 season.

Cole Klein from Rogers (MN) won the Bandolero’s feature race, he held off Tristan Swanson from Elko (MN) for the win.

Next Saturday night May 24th join us at Elko Speedway for family fun and entertainment with 7 divisions of racing in the NASCAR Whelen All American series. Also the IMCA Old Timers will race and a FREE Live concert after the races by G.B. Leighton in Champions bar. Gates open at 5pm and racing at 7pm, get more information at www.ElkoSpeedway.com or call (952) 461-RACE. Be sure and follow us on Facebook, Twitter and YouTube, just search Elko Speedway.

Comments are closed.

Warning: Undefined variable $aria_req in /var/www/html/wp-content/themes/elkospeedway/comments.php on line 80

Warning: Undefined variable $aria_req in /var/www/html/wp-content/themes/elkospeedway/comments.php on line 82