Dwain Behrens Memorial Race Results

August 17, 2013 – Elko, MN

Matt Goede from New Germany (MN) won the Dwain Behrens memorial 40 lap main event for the Super Late Models in the NASCAR Whelen All American series at Elko Speedway.

Derek Lemke started up front and lead the entire race until he was passed by Matt Goede on the last lap, “I kind of feel bad for Derek, he should’ve won” said Goede. “The lapped traffic didn’t do him any favors and he got super loose. In three and four we rubbed a little bit, but I was able to beat him to the line, it was a good race.”

Goede started the race outside of the fourth row and battled side by side with third place finisher Joey Garofalo for many laps before making his way to the front of the pack and winning by .238 seconds over Lemke.

Dwain Behrens was an Elko Speedway track champion and Hall of Fame member, this is the 20th annual memorial race in his honor. “I’m happy to win the Behrens race,” said Goede “this is our biggest race of the year and a lot of people come out to support Dwain, it meant a lot to everybody.”

Michael Ostdiek from Lakeville (MN) won the Great North Legends Regional qualifier race, it was his sixth straight win at Elko Speedway. Ostdiek started on the pole but an electrical problem dropped him back to third. He later took advantage when Derek Lemke and Dirk Henry fought side by side, he snuck past them both to take home the win. “With everyone here for the Dwain Behrens race it meant a lot,” said Ostdiek “I’m usually not a softy but, it was pretty special.”

Ostdiek was the winner in the Young Lions division of the Great North Legends, Dirk Henry was the highest finishing Pro driver, Dylan Warner won the Semi-pro category and Greg Erhardt was the top finishing Masters driver. Each of those winners get an invitation to the Legends Asphalt National Championship Main event September 14th at Lake Erie Speedway in Pennsylvania.

Ryan Kamish from Farmington (MN) started on the pole and won the Big 8 feature event after a hard fought battle with Joe Neisius. “It wasn’t easy” said Kamish “I had to use him up a little bit and do what I needed to win.” Kamish was a winning Short Tracker racer for many years, but the Big 8 division has proven to be a real challenge. “This win is a big moment,” said Kamish “I was in tears in victory lane, its the best feeling I’ve ever had in a race car.”

Conrad Jorgenson from Lakeville (MN) ran away with the Thunder Car main event, Dustin Mann finished second with Devin Schmidt third and point leader Brent Kane in fourth.

Tom Doten from St Paul (MN) won his second feature of the year after a tough battle with John Lebens “I was waiting for the hit, but he kept it cool, so it was a lot of fun,” said Doten. Doten won by only .398 seconds at the finish line, Lebens got second and held onto the point lead, Norm Grabinger finished third and Taylor Goldman fourth.

Tyler Kingery from Prior Lake (MN) won the Bandoleros main event Jared Duda finished second and Brody Wulf in third.

Up next at Elko Speedway is the Eve of Destruction RAW event on Saturday August 24th presented by Noble RV. Two Monster Trucks, the St Paul Bouncing team, Freestyle Motocross, Bus races, Spectator Drags, Flag pole race, Freestyle bicycle stunts, 6 divisions of racing, No Exit band and much more. Gates open at 5pm and racing at 7pm, get more information at www.elkospeedway.com or by calling (952) 461-7223.

Comments are closed.