By Jason D Searcy

September 1, 2018 – Elko, MN

NASCAR Whelen All American Series Racing does not take a break over Labor Day weekend at Elko Speedway. The Hiway Federal Credit Union Late Model division first 30 lap feature had #52 Chad Walen lead the race until fast qualifier #72 Jacob Goede from Carver (MN) took over the top spot with a strong move on the inside on lap 11. The race for the win was over at that point as Goede built a big lead and won by 2.308 seconds. The battle on the track was for second as numerous drivers vied for the runner up position. At the end of this cautionless race #21 Adam Bendzick edged #7 Paul Paine for second place, #26 L. B. Berthiaume was fourth and Chad Walen was fifth of the 17 cars entered in the race. It was the seventh win of the season for Goede.

The second feature event in the Late Models had numerous cautions but the same outcome was reached as #72 Jacob Goede won his eighth trophy of the year. It didn’t come easy though, #50 Steve Anderson led the first few laps, then #40 Matthew Ostdiek took over the top spot after a restart. Jacob Goede then grabbed the lead on lap 16 as drivers raced furiously behind him. At one point #7 Paul Paine spun and Matthew Ostdiek took responsibility for the caution with the “Gentlemans Tap-out” rule and Paine got his spot back on the restart. Paine drove a great race and had a season-best finish of second place .509 seconds behind Goede. Michael Haggar #19 started 16th and finished third, #13 Bryan Wrolstad was fourth and rookie #31 Ryan Varner finished fifth.

The unofficial standings now have #72 Jacob Goede leading #6 Owin Giles by 280 points and #52 Chad Walen is just one point behind Giles. Goede is looking for his fifth consecutive Premier division Championship at Elko Speedway.

The first Genz-Ryan Thunder Car 20 lap feature had #07 Dillon Sellner leading early until #32 Jeremy Wolff grabbed the top spot with a pass on the high side on lap six. There was a caution on lap nine and on the restart fast qualifier #37 Bryce Blohm from Lakeville (MN) went side by side with Wolff and finally did take the lead on lap 12. Blohm then held on through another caution period and went on to win by 1.307 seconds. It was a great battle for second place as #25 Eric Campbell edged Jeremy Wolff for the runner-up position. Dillon Sellner was fourth and #15 Colin Neisius finished fifth of the 16 cars entered in the race. It was the sixth victory of the season so far for Bryce Blohm.

In the second Thunder Car main event it was #99 Brent Kane from Lonsdale (MN) leading nearly every lap, but it did not come easy as he was challenged numerous times by the black #8 car driven by Ted Reuvers, it was the third win of the season for Kane. Reuvers finished second, #25 Eric Campbell was third, #37 Bryce Blohm finished fourth and #07 Dillon Sellner was fifth, point leader #32 Jeremy Wolff was sixth. The #14 car driven by Tony Holm smacked the wall hard in corner one and did not finish.

The unofficial standings now have Jeremy Wolff leading Bryce Blohm by 21 points and Eric Campbell is still very much in the Championship hunt at only 25 points out of the lead.

The Eternity Homes Great North Legends first 20 lap feature had #44 Ryan Johnson driving a car formerly raced by the father of Tony Stewart, Nelson Stewart take the early lead until passed by fourteen year old #12 Sammy Smith of Johnston (IA) on lap 3. Smith then built a big lead and the race went cautionless, much to the disappointment of #75 Baiden Heskett who was sifting his way through the field after starting 9th. Heskett was able to make his way up to second place but finished .755 seconds behind Sammy Smith who won his third feature event of the year at ELKO. Cole Klein #8 was third, fast qualifier #13 Tim Brockhouse was fourth and #47 Austin Jahr finished fifth of the 13 cars entered in the race.

The second Great North Legends feature had #9 Joe Gorenflo lead the first lap and then #03 Robby Carter from Prior Lake (MN) took over the top spot on lap two, a lead Carter would not relinquish as he won the cautionless race by .117 seconds over a hard charging Baiden Heskett #75 who finished second place again. Robby Carter is a crowd favorite veteran racer who first started driving Legends cars in 2003 and it was his first win in many years, “I just drove,” said Carter “I know that one lap I hit the wall so I was pushing it every inch.” Heskett was second, Tim Brockhouse #13 was third, #12 Sammy Smith finished fourth and #91 Tristan Swanson was fifth.

The unofficial standings now have Baiden Heskett leading Robby Carter by 230 points in the race for the Championship.

The big Eve of Destruction crowd at Elko Speedway was thrilled by the Drifters, who put on a great show of precision driving. Chance Crooks from Shakopee (MN) was the overall winner chosen by the crowd, he was driving a green Nissan 350Z.

The School Bus races never disappoint also freestyle Motocross performer Brian McCarty was doing stunts never before seen at Elko Speedway. Freestyle MegaJump BMX was also a big hit on the concourse. Ryan Kamish from Farmington (MN) in his 1991 RX327 won the spectator drags.

A WW2 era armored personnel carrier converted into a car eating Robot Dinosaur named Transaurus capped off the big night of entertainment at Elko Speedway.

Up next is another Eve of Destruction on Saturday September 8th. Featuring racing in the Late Models, Thunder Cars and Power Stocks also two Monster Trucks, a Hollywood Stuntman, Lumberjack competition and much more including music by Good for Gary. Gates open at 5pm and action at 6pm at Elko Speedway.

Elko Speedway is a NASCAR sanctioned 3/8th mile asphalt oval race track with stadium seating located just 30 minutes South of the Twin Cities in Elko/New Market (MN). Get more information by following Elko Speedway on social media, download the free app or go to